First roll of film!

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
No
Hi all, firstly I am a newbie to Film Photography. I picked up an Olympus OM1 with a 50mm lens, I shot a roll of expired Fuji 200 + new Fuji 400 and left both in to my local shop to be developed with surprising outcomes.

Roll 1 - EXPIRED 2012 Fuji 200: Contrast a bit of but generally not to bad for expired film, would expected worse!

expired-fuji-200.jpg

Roll 2 - NEW 2019 Fuji 400 Superia: All photos distorted like this!

new-fuji-400.jpg

---

I don't think this is the camera or settings, could it simply be the fault of whoever developed the roll??

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited:
I don't think this is the camera or settings, could it simply be the fault of whoever developed the roll??

Thanks in advance for any help!

A lot of variables in play here, so it would be hard to say anything with any certainty. That said, while not impossible, I'd be surprised if the problems resulted from the development or the film. Even for your expired film, it's only a few years out of date, so I'd only expect a problem if it had been stored in very warm conditions.

I would guess that the source of the issue would most likely be the camera or user error.

How did you calculate your exposures?

Last edited:
That second picture looks more like expired film and also looks like a light leak - that orange streak.

Or the film wasn't wound far enough before making the first exposure (if this is the first exposure).

A lot of variables in play here, so it would be hard to say anything with any certainty. That said, while not impossible, I'd be surprised if the problems resulted from the development or the film. Even for your expired film, it's only a few years out of date, so I'd only expect a problem if it had been stored in very warm conditions.

I would guess that the source of the issue would most likely be the camera or user error.

How did you calculate your exposures?