Group photo under floodlights

Edit My Images
No
I have been asked at short notice to take a group photo this evening - a presentation of a cheque with about 20ish footballers behind, under floodlights at a football pitch (no ceilings or walls). I wondered if anyone had any tips please? I'm a novice with flash and usually take photos of football. There isn't anyone else who can do it, so I'm the best option they've got :rolleyes:

My thoughts are Manual mode, ISO 1000, 1/125s f/8 on a 5div with 600ex flash on camera using ETTL. I'll try and get the group squashed together deep rather than wide, so I can get as close as possible (hence f/8) and probably use my 24-70 at the 24 end. Ideally I'd like to take it at around 35mm if I can. I do have a 16-35 too.

The 5div has an anti-flicker setting although I'm not sure I need this since I'm using flash.

I do have a Yongnuo trigger, another flashgun and a couple of stands, but knowing what the footballers are like, they won't want to hang around much whilst I fiddle setting things up.

I'll get there early, around 5.30pm but the light will be changing even as I set up. There may be 10 people or 30, but probably around 20.

Would really appreciate any tips if anyone has any.

I think my approach would probably be to use the floodlights to set the mood and as the main light source and to use the flash only as fill.

So, I would set the camera to AP to establish the exposure and set the shutter speed, and would have the camera/flash at a distance to stop the ISL messing up the flash contribution at the various distances.

Take someone with you for testing.

Thanks @Garry Edwards What is ISL please?
Inverse Square Law -the basis for everything that involves the use of light.