Beginner Help me choose my first camera!

Name
Ignacio
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello, first, thank you for taking the time to help me. I'm an industrial design student looking to buy my first camera, up to this point I've been using almost exclusively my iPhone 8 Plus to take photos, except from a few times I've used my girlfriend's Nikon D5300 and a friend's Sony A6000. I'm mostly interested in product photography as it relates to my field the most, but I sometimes snap portraits and streets.

I've been looking into the Nikon D3400 and Sony A6000, both of which are being sold for roughly the same (at least in my country). Both come in kits, the D3400 comes with a 18-55 mm lens, and the A6000 with a 16-50 mm one. Also, I've found a used D3200 for cheap, but I would prefer to get a new camera just to know everything's OK. I know the D3400 is a DSLR and the A6000 is mirrorless, but I'm still a bit lost which is right for me.

Another thing to note would be that I'm going on a 6 month trip abroad soon, and I would like to take advantage of this opportunity to come back with some good shots.

So, which one should I get as my first camera?

Thank you again for reading!

Hi and welcome to TP

Reading your post, the first thing they comes to mind.....of the Nikon and the Sony you tried what did you like the best by way of handling, controls, the files they produced?

Though your budget it seems would not stretch to the D5300, just how different is the D3400 to it?

Re: dSLR vs mirrorless ~ FWIW I have both but since getting my Olympus (mirrorless) my Canon (dSLR) has seen no more usage yet!

In general terms i would surmise that whatever you get will serve you well.

HTH a bit maybe :)

PS I think you will find a greater range of lenses for the Nikon than the Sony.....the kit lens in time you may find a bit limiting for the product photography???