Critique Help please

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
Well basically bung every bit of help ya can at me post wise.

Story is simple enough: stu wants to paint wiv light

rarely..oh so rarely can I put me an ' big ears in the right place at the right time to really delve into that.............the image below is part of that story of questing fr light and in so many ways tis flawed , I've knocked SS off where it wants to be for a start and not noticed OUCH, anyways Please crit this not like I shot in auto ISO and wish I hadn't

How does one really approach a back lit image like this I don't feel I've grasped what folks have tried to teach me, does one underexpose by maybe a couple of stops?

cheers muchly

_S2I2047 d 'n's smj tdn light 'n' hare by Stuart Philpott, on Flickr

cheers for the help don''t hit like teach me what you know

thank you

stu

Not experienced enough to help but will watch this with interest.

Hey Stu , you know I am no expert , but it will depend on what your after and what you can live with . A lot of Mammal photographers like their subjects back lit , it highlights all those guard Hares . ( Pun intended ) . The thing is the more you expose for the shadows the more those highlights are going to burn out , and I am guessing the detail would get lost in those guard hairs . Have you tried lifting the shadows some ? They are a little dark for me , I would of liked to see a bit more detail in the Hares . I think it would of been very hard to be ready for such a situation , and taken great camera skills to adjust settings in time and get it right .

First up to all those likes above bless ya they are HUGELY appreciated kinda not what I'm after though,

I have quested a place where I can do this for frankly years now .. the lie of the land where I make hare pics makes it incredibly difficult to shoot under the sun later in the day.so I'm in novice land

proper out of me depth..