Beginner Hi Everybody....

Edit My Images
No
Ok, so I recently acquired a Minolta X-300 and am now on the market for lenses & a shutter release cable.

After doing some research, I see the X-300 uses an SR mount. Does this mean that any lens with an SR mount fitting , I can just attach straight to the camera body or do I need an adapter?
I know Tamron made an SR mount adapter for the Adaptall lens range but I am assuming that is in order to use Tamron specific lenses that didnt have the SR fitting? Is that correct?

I am a serious newbie so I'm trying to get to grips with the basics amd dont want to spend money on the wrong things.

If anyone could clear this up for me, I would appreciate it a lot. Equally if anyone could share any links to lenses or shutter release cables, I would be beyond grateful amd I apologise if this is a ridiculous question.

[emoji16]

I apologise if this is a ridiculous question.

The only ridiculous question is:
— "why didn't I ask that question?"

Welcome Gems85☆

I cannot help you more than that since the only Minoltas
I knew were the SRT 101 and the XM… 40+ years ago!

Hi Gem, the Minolta X300 used Minolta MD/ MC mount lenses. The SR mount is the older version.

There are plenty of used camera dealers with a good selection of Minolta lenses for sale. Ffordes are a good starting point, I've bought from them before. Just be sure to buy the MD/ MC mount as the ones listed as Minolta AF use a different mount.