Is it rude to ask the photographer to edit the photos differently?

Name
Catherine
Edit My Images
No
It's actually a funny question to ask while being a photographer myself, but anyway, here is the thing: I've been looking for a wedding photographer for a while and I've found one in my area who does pretty incredible photos but I have questions about his editing style. I like the way he works with the models and creates the shot itself, but his photos look too bright and sunny, while I'd like to have the exact same shots with a more moody edit. So the question is, should I ask him whether he can do the edits differently? As a photographer myself, I'd be fine with a request like that, but I know that some people may consider it rude. Or should I just ask him for the RAWs and then edit them myself? It's also a way to go, but I'm just not sure I'll want to spend time with the photos and Photoworks window instead of my husband, you see :D So what do I do? Looking for another photographer is also an option, but I really love the style this guy works with, so I'd prefer to work with him.

I shoot a few weddings ( usually around 4-6 a year) and NO WAY would I give away RAW files for people to edit themselves, as they could ruin the effort I put in taking the image in the 1st place & also my name would be associated with those images on social media etc etc - I have a couple of Photographer friends that shoot mostly weddings and NEVER have I heard of them giving / selling RAW files - It's just not done

You could ask him to edit in a moody way - however: I personally would not entertain such a request and suggest you find another Photographer who's style in more in line with your views on editing

Les

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't do weddings but I see no reason why you could not ask him if he is prepared to edit to a less 'bright' format, he can agree or refuse but in the current climate I think it unlikely many would refuse that simple request.