Its cold outside... (Poppy)

Name
Karen
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok lets try this again lol....
This is my kitty, Poppy. I'm new at photography but have always had the passion and now have the equipment to experiment with this passion. I thought with the snow fallen and my gorgeous cat exploring the outdoors I would take advantage of this moment and grab the camera, not much more to it...I quite like these shots.
I would like to hear your comments and how you would maybe improve them? and whether you like the shots :)
thank you.

IMG_5119.jpg

IMG_5115-1.jpg

IMG_5111-1.jpg

Last edited:
HI Karen, You have specifically asked for critique. I would be really interested to know a little more about these shots from you. Is there anything you specifially like / dislike about these? How do you feel about them? If these pics were posted by someone else, what would your thoughts be?

It is very useful to have a little more information behind the posting to offer crit. Perhaps there is something that you set out to achieve. Self crit before posting is a very good skill to develop in my opinion. Also, I think the pics would be easier to crit at a larger size.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments (y)

They are very small to really comment, and it might just be me, but it seems to me as if focus is more on the concrete wall (especially #1), and the cat doesn't seem to be in sharp focus.

Cheers Karen - Why do you prefer #2? Something about the look on the cat? Uncluttered background? Nice blurred background? Best focus? Perhaps it's something less photographic, that it best represents the cats character?