Lee filters Digital starter pack - Good idea?

Name
Sara
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been looking at spending some chrimbo money on Lee filters. I am looking at the Digital Starter pack

http://www.leefilters.com/camera/products/range/ref:I46CBFACFBD385/

Would this be a good way to start my filter journey? Ireally do want the Lee filters. So would I be better getting seperate bits? If so, what exactly would I need to get the whole lot safely mounted on my 17-55?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sara,

As far as I understand, Lee are pretty much the best you can get. If you have the money, then go for it.

A lot of people recommend Hitech ones which are supposed to be excellent for the price.

I am afraid I have no experience of either sets (although am looking to get some Hitech ones soon) so I am sure someone will post something more useful in a bit. Just wanted to give you that option.

http://www.teamworkphoto.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=78_767_277&products_id=10288

Hope it helps,

Marco

Sara,

I have the starter kit, with the proglass 2 stop ND and 2 stop hard grad and are super quality.

Never used the hitech filter system, but figured if I use the best quality L glass then I may as well use the best filters.

You'll save a little bit of money by buying the kit itself and are "buy once" accessories, unless of course you severely scratch them.

I think they're expensive but well worth the money :)

I bought the Lee filter holder system with the wide angle adapter, its probably one of the best you can get......but expensive. As for filters I went with the Hitech ones and I have to say they are excellent too and only half the price of the Lee ones. Now if you were going for glass filters then I might have to say go for the Lee ones, but if your just buying resin then I'd go for Hitech.

Simon.

PS. I only shoot with Canon L glass too.

Mmm...

This is very interesting as I`m just about to get some filters too.