Beginner Lens connection

Name
Greig
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok so I’m just getting into photography and bought myself a canon eos 1100d. Now I bought myself a telephoto lens from eBay that connects to my camera but I’m trying to find a auto teleplus lens to connect to it as the 3x that’s currently on it doesn’t support autofocus, aperture changes etc. I’ve attached a photo of the connection so any information would be very much appreciated.

thanks,

greig

If pic 1 and 3 are the lens , you won’t get any autofocus or anything electrical as there are no contacts on it to provide that information to the camera.
The aperture is controlled by the small lever by the made in Japan text. There is no electrical connection to it for the camera to change it via the body. It will be controlled by the aperture ring on the lens.

Thanks for getting back to me. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get the lens itself to autofocus but I have been looking at either adapters or potentially a 1x lens to go between that I could at least select the aperture using the camera settings? If I knew the connection type I could research more but I can’t seem to find what type of connection it has.

The lens you have bought was not designed to work with your camera, even if you're able to mount it - with the tag that sticks up with the slot down the middle, it looks to me like that lens is actually a Nikon F mount.

If I knew the connection type I could research more but I can’t seem to find what type of connection it has.

No in-body control of that lens will be possible, you can see printed on the lens mount N-F in the last picture = Nikon F mount.

Sorry Greig - not good news. Anyway, welcome to TP. :)

Last edited: