Beginner Lens & Lighting

Name
Paul Bates
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi

I wasnt too sure what category to post this in as it covers 2 topics, but fundamentally it comes down to the fact im a complete beginner with less than a years experience! :LOL::LOL:

I currently own a Sigma 150-600c lens ( and I know that 80% of my problems are probably technique ) but I am getting frustrated at the fact it struggles in low light.

What I dont understand is what is considered as low light? the next step up from this lens is possibly the nikon 500mm PF which will involve selling one of my kidneys. but will a prime lens like this respond much better to low light than my sigma?

I see photos that people post of dawn/dusk but I dont have any point of reference as to whether its quite dark dawn/dusk or if it pretty much full light.

So I guess the basic question is will an upgrade to this lens ( or equivalent without going to crazy money ) make a material difference to the performance I currently get with the sigma?

thanks

The Sigma 150-600c is f/5.6 at the widest end and f/6.3 at the longest end. The quality probably isn't great until you stop it down to somewhere around f/11 to f/16. At those apertures, low light could be a problem - especially as, particularly at the longer focal lengths, you'll probably need a fairly high shutter speed to prevent camera shake.

So, the question is, do you really need such a long lens? Depending on your type of photography, you may or may not.

"Low light" is just a subjective term. It's difficult to attach figures to it.

The only real way of making the light effectively less low is to use a high ISO setting. But how high is "acceptable" without serious loss of quality will depend partly on what you find to be acceptable and partly on the size of your camera sensor and partly on on other factors, so it's difficult to give you a useful answer without more info from you.