Lightroom 6

Name
Phil
Edit My Images
No
Has anyone seen or have a link to what is in LR6 and the expected release date. LR5 was such a leap forward with NR and suchlike I was wondering if LR6 would have similar changes in other aspects of processing. I'm a newbie on this forum although been a member for sometime. Hadn't appreciated the content and how useful it was.

Phil

Well it was touted to be launched today -9th March, but it hasn't happened yet, so I guess it's not too far away.

AFAIK (from reading the web), it will be now only available for 64bit operating systems (so those with 32bit versions of Windows or Mac OS will not be able to run it). As its optimised for 64bit, it's touted to be much faster than previous generations, and will contain some new modules (i.e. Merge to HDR and Panorama) from directly within LR without having to export to an outside program.

Other than the above, I'm not sure what it will bring (other than another upgrade price), so guess we will just have to wait !

I'd expect it tomorrow... Most software tends to stick to US release patterns, which historically have always been on Tuesday's

I saw on another website someone saying we were 11 hours (GMT) into Monday and nothing had been announced. Well - as I write it is 11.15am GMT but only 4.15am Pacific time in the USA so it is entirely possible that the Adobe team are still in bed asleep!

Anthony.

There were a couple articles in Petapixel with leaked info. The main improvements are it will use your computer's GPU for faster processing (hence the 64 bit / OS 10.8 requirement), HDR creation and panorama stitching. I'm in California and haven't seen an official announcement yet either. I read somewhere that Amazon Japan showed March 20, so who really knows.
http://petapixel.com/2015/02/19/lig...for-faster-editing-panorama-and-hdr-creation/
http://petapixel.com/2015/02/27/a-first-look-at-the-hdr-merge-feature-coming-soon-in-lightroom-6/