My Learning curve . . . Pets / movement / B&W

SarahLee

TPer Emerita
Name
Sarah
Edit My Images
No
I hope it's OK to post this here.

I'm a total novice, but eager to learn and I thought it would be good for me to start a thread charting my progress. Hopefully I'll look back on it in months to come and see some real improvement.

I don't quite have the dedication of you lot doing the 52s and 365s, but I hope to update this whenever I try something new or get something that I think is quite good.
This really is intended as a learning thread for me so any comments and advice gratefully welcomed.

We've all got to start somewhere, so this is one of my first attempts and marks the starting point for my journey.

bee7V3-1.jpg

Last edited:
Looking around the site, there are some really beautiful photos really taking advantage of DoF (I think I'm picking up the right abbreviations here :D), so this week I've set myself the challenge of getting a feel for the aperture settings on my camera.

For these first couple I've left shutter speed on auto, and unfortunately I don't have the option for manual focus on my camera.

I really need to give this a good go at the weekend when I have more time, but I think No1 turned out quite well and while No2 has a lot of flaws it's given me a bit of a feel for the camera. It's something I'd like to try re-shooting when I have a bit more experience and seeing how much of an improvement there is.

1)
Chess1v2.jpg

2)
Chess3V2.jpg

Last edited:
Very nice Sarah, The Bee shot is very sharp, and i like the second shot too, nice and simple. compositionally they are not bad at all.. the only thing is id like to see them a little bigger, and a little brighter..

A great start, but i think you may have set the bar quite high.. (y)

Cant wait to see more..

Great entry to the forums and the best of luck to you.
(I'd show off your images more by putting them up a lil bit bigger though.)

You are already taking very nice pix btw :)