New To Film: Olympus OM-1n

Edit My Images
No
6B065D7D-A4CB-496B-AC5F-0AFE2665A85D-e1549712078551.jpeg

I'm always up for a fresh challenge and never having taken a single film photograph, I thought it was about time I did what I've been saying I'm going to do for the past two years and get talking some film shots.

So yesterday, the local charity shop put out a wonderful display of cameras and I spotted the Olympus. Having doing some research a few years back I remember it being quite well thought of and the similarities to the Leica... (naughty Olympus!!) haha

Im going to pick up a new battery and some film this weekend. I was trying to find the age of it - I know they were first released in 72 - however I was wondering if there is anyway to check the serial number? 1653052 - had a look but not been able to find anything to pin point its age. Its in cracking condition - not been out of its leather case by the looks.

Anything else anyone can tell me about it at all? tips, tricks past experiences using these... Thank you all.

The OM1 takes a mercury type battery, the sale of which was banned a number of years ago, so you won't be able to get an original one. Most modern equivalent batteries that will fit are of a higher voltage and will usually result in inaccurate meter readings. There are a few options to get round this, which include using Wein air cells (not cheap and only last a few months); buying a specially made battery converter so you can use a modern alkali or silver oxide button battery; forgetting about the in-camera meter and using a separate light meter (or a light meter smartphone app); or sending your camera to a good camera technician to get it converted to take a modern equivalent.