Nikon105mm f1.4

Hope this is true and it's good...

True? …no idea!

What I can anticipate from the published image
is that it is not going to be IF.

What I see, on the same image, is that it is shorter
than the ƒ2.8 as new CAD approaches may bring
new, more compact lens configuration and design.

Unfortunately Nikon Rumors doesn't grade the credibility of its sources, so probably all we can do us wait and see.

It's interesting to note that this has come completely out of the blue. There have been no previous rumours of a 105mm f/1.4. It's also interesting that, so far as I can tell, none of the manufacturers has ever made such a lens before. Those aren't good signs. On the other hand, the announcement does seem to be fairly definite.

I guess we'll see...

Who would this be aimed at? Portrait ?
Genuinely interested, i'm still learning what such large apertures would be of use to. ( being mainly birds)

Who would this be aimed at? Portrait ?
Genuinely interested, i'm still learning what such large apertures would be of use to. ( being mainly birds)
Portraits, maybe for wedding togs paired with a wide and a 50mm.

Unfortunately Nikon Rumors doesn't grade the credibility of its sources, so probably all we can do us wait and see.

It's interesting to note that this has come completely out of the blue. There have been no previous rumours of a 105mm f/1.4. It's also interesting that, so far as I can tell, none of the manufacturers has ever made such a lens before. Those aren't good signs. On the other hand, the announcement does seem to be fairly definite.

I guess we'll see...

Now confirmed by Nikon available in the states from next month.

Very appealing! I'm going to guess that it will be knocking on the door of £2k though. I'll never justify buying one for myself but looking forward to seeing the results from those that do.

Interesting. No VR. I'd rather have seen an update to the 105/135 dc lenses.