1. CSB

    CSB

    Messages:
    1,919
    Name:
    Sam
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    @woof woof thanks for the reply, that's really useful
     
  2. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,632
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Another option is the GX9 as you get the tilting evf and manual controls back whilst keeping the new quiet and shutter shock free shutter but sadly that'll cost more. Looking at the image quality I just can't see any appreciable difference between any of these cameras (GX7, GX80 and GX9) at all. The GX9 does give you more resolution at what seems to be zero hit to image quality so I suppose that makes it better :D but I wouldn't recommend any of these cameras over the others for image quality as they all seem the same to me.

    One nice thing is that all of these cameras feel very well made.
     
    CSB likes this.
  3. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi

    Messages:
    10,021
    Name:
    Rich
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Only had the GX80 and GX9, both have sensors minus the low pass filter, is the GX7 the same.?
    Also I would imagine the IBIS has improved a bit since the GX7, the two above mentioned have 4 stop and dual is capability with Panasonic ois lenses which pushes it up a little bit more.

    I'm a recent newcomer to the m4/3 scene, bought the GX80 to try it out, very impressed so got the GX9 with the excellent cashback offer.
    Think its still on, camera is £599 and the rebate of 150 quid is I reckon very generous at what is a 25% discount on a current model
     
  4. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    thanks i will try that ...if i can get it cleaned up its possible with the batteries and manual sans lens i could get some ££ for it

    ps....the G5...i wont be taking videos btw...what speed card would work best to load up shots reasonably quickly
    cheers
    geof
     
  5. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi

    Messages:
    10,021
    Name:
    Rich
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Reckon it will work Geof, used it to clean all manner of things, contains no water so should be safe for a camera.

    With regard to memory cards I have been using SanDisk Extreme Pro in my Fuji and more recently Panasonic cameras too.
    These are the ones, can't get over how cheap memory is these days https://www.amazon.co.uk/SanDisk-Extreme-SDHC-Memory-Class/dp/B01J5RHBQ4
     
    mrtoad likes this.
  6. badlywornroy

    badlywornroy I am not macho

    Messages:
    1,646
    Name:
    Roy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have a gx7 and a gx8. The gx7 is a lovely little camera. I use mine when I want to travel lightweight, i.e fell walking etc. Fitted with the Panasonic 20mm f1.7 pancake lens it is a small lightweight package capable of excellent image quality. If you wanted a little more convenience then the gx7 with the very good Panasonic 12-32mm is no bigger than with the 20mm.
    The evf of the gx7 is certainly not the best (the gx8 is oled and much better) I believe the gx80 and the new gx9 have the same evf as the gx7. Panasonic really should have used the better oled evf in the gx9 ?
    I love the articulated evf of the gx7 & gx8, I take many low level shots and this evf is a great help.
    I think the sensor development in these m4/3rds cameras ‘peaked’ some time ago. Sure my gx8 has 20m pixels as opposed to 16m on the gx7 but the image quality is essentially the same. Maybe the later models ‘measure’ better in the lab but IRL I doubt you will see any difference.
     
    CSB likes this.
  7. akr

    akr

    Messages:
    2,663
    Name:
    Al
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks both. I can get some with the EM5II, but keeper rate is low. I was wondering if the AF would work better using the Panny - I will look at bit further before deciding.
     
  8. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    thanks...i have just ordered that now as my main card...dont think i will ever fill it up but i do have a 16gb card from the G1 which will do as a backup..
    cheers
    geof

    got the manual from ebay..£5.50 so i am ready to learn what to set to suit my usual method of photography
    spot focus, spot exposure and sometimes manual focus... i vary between aperture and speed priority depending...program is a snapshot setting which i keep on until i get the camera out of the bag..just a spare battery to get now...
    many thanks for your advice and attention
    ps the camera came set at intelligent auto..not sure this might suit me..
    does the name herb alpert ring a bell..:)
    cheers
    geof
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  9. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi

    Messages:
    10,021
    Name:
    Rich
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I never fill the card either, also have a couple of 8gb ones, often struggle to fill them too, but 32gb seems to be about standard now
    Never used iA, mine is usually on A same as I used most of the time on dslr's, soon find what suits you best

    It certainly does a ring a bell along with his Tijuana Brass :)
     
    mrtoad likes this.
  10. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    G9 Vs G80, much of a difference?



    Nope :) It confirms for me that the G80 tends to over expose a little, if he had pulled back a little on exp comp on it there would be even less difference.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  11. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    6,342
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Totally agree there Keith .. all indoor static shots though so any comparison is based on fantasy .the g9 is supposed to be for outdoor users I.e sport and wildlife so this test is worthless at best
     
  12. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    6,342
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Changing subject the one thing I find really weird is if I put my 100-400 on the omd10 mkii the image in the EVF is surprisingly a lot brighter making composition a hell of a lot easier , I initially thought it was a problem with the g80 but it’s exactly the same on my lads camera .. I am seriously thinking of getting another Olympus body probably the omd1 mk1 due to cost , really could do with trying one out first
     
  13. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I think this shows that the G9 is better really only in terms of build quality and extra features, you get dual card slots and better IBIS on top of course. But it is not "useless" or I wouldn't have posted it. Not everyone who buys a G9 shots sports cars over and over or wildlife, some buy it for just that, shooting at home, or your every day photography. Shooting RAW with both, the only real difference is the file size. So the message is, be happy with your little G80 if you've pondered on a G9, unless you do really need that extra speed. Not really worth the upgrade.

    This is not the first direct comparison I've watched between the 2, that one just happened to be upped yesterday
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  14. Gandalf

    Gandalf

    Messages:
    505
    Name:
    Andy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Jeff & Keith...

    12-40 f2.8 Pro lens in classified @Keith.

    EM1 MkI in Classifieds @ Jeff.
     
    Cagey75 likes this.
  15. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No

    I'd still have to sell the 15mm, nobody seems to want to bite
     
  16. badlywornroy

    badlywornroy I am not macho

    Messages:
    1,646
    Name:
    Roy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Andy, (Gandalf) did you receive my PM ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
  17. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    yes herb was in my era..
    the manual has come and i have been slogging through it to run around the menus and set up as i like it...nearly
    the flash pops up when i click it but does not energise...i cant see where to un tick the multi frame setting...there doesnt seem to be a NO on the page for setting it...so i set it on the lowest set provisionally...
    with time i will discover other peripheral items outside the unaffected shot taking...filters etc..
    can anyone help??
    cheers
    geof
     
  18. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    after hours of googling...G5 flash wont work...i finally got some info...which if had of taken a month i might have found it in the manual...:geek:

    its new to me as a dunderheid...that is scottish as i am...an electronic shutter isnt the thing on the front of the body you push when looking through eyepiece...oh no
    its a flip out screen viewer function which enables one to touch the screen to activate the shutter...how daft could i get to not realise this...??
    so i set electronic shutter to yes...and ges wot...it cancels flash activity...
    if you want to use flash you only use the normal shutter release on the body and put no in the menu for electronic shutter....o_Oo_O

    next stage is to get the f 1 button to only hold auto exposure and not focus so i can do spot readings for exposure...compose..and then fire the "non electronic shutter" as eye look through the I piece...my normal method
    cheers
    geof
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  19. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    6,342
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    maarten.dhaese and akr like this.
  20. Stumpy

    Stumpy

    Messages:
    616
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I think your getting your shutter TYPE and shutter RELESE WAY a bit confused. Most of these moderen electronic cameras have two types of shutter, a mechanical one a little like an old film cam, and an electronic one. Pros and cons for both.
    The normal way for shutter release would be to use the SHUTTER RELEASE BUTTON on the top, front grip. As you have found out if you have TOUCH SCREEN activated, (Not set to off) you might be able to use (If fitted, not on all touch screen cameras), TOUCH SHUTTER ( If thats what Panny call it, sorry not shure). On mine once switched on I can use either release. I only tend to use the shutter button on top, (I'm old......fasioned).
    The two are sepperate things. You might not have to have ELECTRONIC SHUTTER selected to use touch release. You WILL have to have TOUCH SCREEN on to use TOUCH RELEASE.

    I have had a G6 for two or three years and it always puts a smile on my face using it. Its also one of the most complex things Ive opperated, and i was a pilot. Lean one thing at a time, and when you learn another, play with BOTH and so on. And WRITE IT DOWN, that reinforces the brains learning.

    One last thing lernt from helping people use computers, you REALY should try and use the EXACTLY PROPER NOMACULAR (Words). It does make alot of difference when asking for help from a distance cus as you've found; "an electronic shutter isnt the thing on the front of the body you push when looking through eyepiece".
     
    mrtoad likes this.
  21. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    6,342
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    number one tip for the G80/85 numpties on here ( myself included) I have owned and used this camera for over six months now , and its been o.k , but since getting the olympus omd10 I have noticed one thing the EVF on the g80 is rather dim and uninspiring and with the onset of autumn I have been missing shots because of it especially with the 100-400 as I often found targets difficult to see .
    I asked mike for help and he suggested putting the problem out on another forum, got a answer within a hour or so , doh there is a adjustment in the spanner menu for monitor brightness/contrast/colour etc I had totally ignored it as I thought was for the rear screen but no it actually changes your EVF as well . you can alter this to make it work and look like a optical viewfinder ,brill bit of info and one I think will transform this camera in our dull winters .

    so if your having the same problem with the e.v.f you now know what to do
     
    ian-83 and mikew like this.
  22. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No

    Aye, what you change for the LCD changes on the evf screen also, same with what you choose to display. Could have just asked here
     
  23. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    6,342
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    tried it out under real time usage today , and still not that impressed .just have to live with it I suppose
     
  24. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    thanks Stumpy

    i did eventually find the operational difference between the electronic shutter being on or off and how that affects the flash being off or on

    i appreciate your advice on writing down...this is what i am going to do now with every piece of data i eventually find how use

    regarding the nomenclature i used...i should have borne in mind it wasnt inducive to clarity for all readers everywhere and that i must change now and thank your for your observations and corrections

    you might know your spelling has some mistakes, old chap...where are you located if its abroad
    it would be interesting to me to know that as i have travelled quite a bit and may have visited your country
    cheers
    geof
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
  25. Stumpy

    Stumpy

    Messages:
    616
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    No
    No Mr Toad, just crap at spelling and typing! WE all live and learn, if we keep an open mind.
     
    mrtoad likes this.
  26. mrtoad

    mrtoad

    Messages:
    16,675
    Name:
    Geof
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    @Stumpy
    ;)
    Oh I thought you may have been Scottish as I am..:confused:

    Happy to learn and you have helped me.
    My next task is how to disengage the burst function.

    rotate!

    Cheers and thanks again
    GEOF
     
  27. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  28. CSB

    CSB

    Messages:
    1,919
    Name:
    Sam
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Simon Blades likes this.
  29. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Great, I'm off to go look at the lens now :)
     
  30. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Bought it. The lens was immaculate and had a UV filter already fitted.
     
  31. CSB

    CSB

    Messages:
    1,919
    Name:
    Sam
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Nice! I think it's a bargain for that price, enjoy!
     
  32. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It is the non 'R' version of the lens but for £45 I'm happy now to have a telephoto in my collection. At least if it doesn't get used too much it wasn't a large expense
     
  33. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    The photo you posted is the R version, if not it won't fir M43, it'll be for the older 4/3 mount and you'd need an adapter
     
  34. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Ahh okay, how much are adaptors?
     
  35. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
    £20 - £25 on ebay. If you bought the one in the link you posted though, it should be the M43 one no?
     
  36. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    IMG_0546.JPG IMG_0546.JPG

    Some photos to help if I’ve bought the wrong lens
     
    tijuana taxi likes this.
  37. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
  38. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    f***. Can you link me to an adaptor?

    Damn CEX for not being clear!
     
  39. Cagey75

    Cagey75

    Messages:
    9,313
    Name:
    Keith
    Edit My Images:
    No
  40. Simon Blades

    Simon Blades

    Messages:
    89
    Name:
    Simon Blades
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Looking at their returns policy any refunds would go on a gift card which wouldn't be of much use to me, I'll try an adaptor out and see how I get on.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice