Photo Editing - what's your view?

Name
Thomas
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

I'm new to photography and have been playing around with the app ViewBug which is a photo contest app. Users enter there photos and others vote on photos over a 2 week period.

I've been looking through lots of the pictures to see what the competition is like when I noticed that a large amount of images are extremely edited, to the point where it's not really the same image it started out as.

What's your view on this? I always thought that the image was what made up most of the photo and the editing should only enhance the photo with subtle changes.

Would appreciate your views/comments ☺️

Editing of photos has been taking place since the days of Fox Talbot. It always will happen.
Do you like the end result?
Photography is an art form and as such allowance for personal expression is needed.
You don't have to do it yourself!!!

:welcome: to the forum, Thomas! :cool:

What's your view on this?

1. Proper capture
  2. Correct read out of the recorded data
  3. Fine tuning through tonal taming
  4. Apply artistic intent.
As you learned, there is a big difference between
photography and imagery, you personal taste will
draw the line.

Last edited:
I've been looking through lots of the pictures to see what the competition is like when I noticed that a large amount of images are extremely edited, to the point where it's not really the same image it started out as.
What's your view on this? I always thought that the image was what made up most of the photo and the editing should only enhance the photo with subtle changes.