Beginner photography virgin right here...

bridge or dslr

• Total voters

Jdsh44

Name
Joshua Davis
Edit My Images
No
Hello everybody, I am going on a trip to south africa in 2018 and as it is such a beautiful place i am obviously looking to take some high quality photographs/ video to look back at. i have very little experience with camera equipment only having used my phone for anything worth of taking a picture. my budget is roughly £350 as im hoping this camera will last me a decent amount of time before i reinvest in a better one later on. my only question is would it be worth buying an older dslr such as the cannon 1300d with the kit lens or getting a bridge camera such as the nikon p900 or canon sx60 as both these cameras have a very high zoom capability.
thank you.

Welcome.

I don't think that you'll get a whole lot of love for the bridge cameras unfortunately. Yes, they offer a large zoom range but the image quality isn't the best. You might want to have a look at mpb who will have a large selection for you to choose from

https://www.mpb.com/en-uk/

Are you using the trip as an "excuse" to get into photography or just wanting to take some photos to help you remember the trip?

What kind of photographs are you hoping to take?

wow i had no idea about it looks like a good site! yeah thats what i was thinking and as somebody not very experienced im not sure if its worth buying a slr and different zoomed lenses to ensure i can photograph everything i would want to.

Are you using the trip as an "excuse" to get into photography or just wanting to take some photos to help you remember the trip?

What kind of photographs are you hoping to take?

i suppose a bit of both haha. am going on safari so am looking for a high zoom camera, after looking up some things and watching reviews and the results compared to a smart phone i really want to get into it now.