PLEASE HELP! Are the lenses focused on his face/will his face look clear?

Name
Pavle
Edit My Images
No
Hello. My name is Pavle. I'm a young photographer. I have just started, so I'm a beginner so I'm still learning. Focus (that square thing) was set on this guy's body (stomach) and not face. What I'm trying to ask is if that (square) is on his stomach will only part of that body (stomach) be in focus or his whole body including his face? Will his face look clear and sharp or no? On some other pictures that I took of him, that same square was on his face, but his face wasn't even clear/sharp, it was blurry?! I am so confused. Can somebody please help me? I'm trying to compete in a competition, but I don't even know If any of this pics are good?! Also, sorry, English is not my first language. Thanks a lot.

PICTURES:

Welcome to the forum.

Autofocus works differently in each camera and you will need to practice using it to get used to how it works and be confident that the subject will be sharp and in focus.

The “depth of field” that will be in focus reduces as the aperture gets wider so wide open at f1.8 needs more care with the focus than say f16.

In these examples it look like you used liveview. If so, use the magnifying glass button to zoom in to check focus before you take the shot.

Are these completion winning images? Unlikely, and to be expected as you’re just starting out. That said, enter the competition and who knows, maybe you learn something from the judges feedback.

Have fun taking photos and practicing.

The square shows the point of focus, anything the same distance from the camera will also be in focus, not just the area inside the square. While the face is outside the square it's near enough to the same distance from the camera to be passably sharp.