Beginner RE: Setup for shooting internal building pictures.

Name
Luke
Edit My Images
No
Hi, New to the forum looking for some advice.

I'm a self employed builder and have been taking pictures of my work for years just using my phone for my website and any adverts which i produce etc.
I want to start producing more high end looking images for said adverts etc.
I have access to a tripod to use the camera on if needed for the more important shots e.g finished kitchen/bathroom.

The setup which I am considering purchasing is:
-Nikon D3500 DSLR Camera with AF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G Lens
-NIKON AF-P DX NIKKOR 10-20 mm f/4.5-5.6G VR Wide-angle Zoom Lens (thought this would be handy for photographing awkward spaces e.g. lofts or small rooms when there is only so far you can back up.
-Godox AD200 pro wireless kit.

What do you guys think to this setup and is there anything you would recommend instead? Thanks for reading.

Welcome to TP

Last edited by a moderator:
I thought we were nice to people in the beginner's forum? I mean, that why I don't come here often :)

@LFN89 There's no real problem with any of that kit - except watch the wide angle for making rooms distorted. Personally I'd suggest more tripod, less flash as flash can be really hard for stuff like this when you're starting. But as I think Phil was *trying* to say, it isn't all about the kit.

What do your images look like right now?

Last edited by a moderator:
I think it helps to avoid the word "distortion" as some wide angle lenses are very well corrected, much more so than your average 18-50mm kit lens.