Some shots with the 500D Close-up element

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

These constitute half an hour in the garden with a piece of kit I bought a year ago and have never really bothered using. I don't really have the kit for true macro shots, so these are just close-ups. It's my first foray into this kind of photography and I am a total amateur. Let me know what you think...

closeup1.jpg

closeup2.jpg

closeup3.jpg

I love these as I don't have a proper macro lens either.
You've inspired me to try more experiments in the future. :)
I need to ask though, how did you manage to get so close to your subjects without frightening them off. I get really frustrated when this happens, but I can't imagine that people just set up on a leaf or a blade of grass and wait for something interesting to land there. :LOL:

It's the latter actually. I picked bug hotspots and basically waited there half an hour! All 3 were taken within about 3 square feet of garden! My big prize was a white butterfly but would that settle down for me... not a chance...

Thanks. I must admit that although sitting out in the garden taking these was really nice and I am pleased with the results, I'm not sure I am tempted to shell out on a true macro lens. I'm tempted to keep churning out stuff with the 500D element and see what I can get!

Nothing wrong with close-ups.............particularly when they are as good as these(y)

Does anyone actually know how the pros get their shots? As was aforementioned, I basically just had to wait for something to 'come into range'. The 500D close-up elements makes the focal distance about 50cm, meaning I have to get quite close (and yet not scare things away). Any techniques?