Sony a6000 Kit for Travelling on a Gap Year

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,
I've been trying to sort out this issue for quite a while now, but haven never come to a firm decision.
In September I am leaving for my Gap Year (I will be away from home for around 10 months) and want to take a camera. We are backpacking around South America, Australia and South East Asia.

I'm not an expert photographer and so only, currently, have a Canon 550D with a 18-55mm Kit Lens and an old 28-105mm USM lens (very heavy). I don't think that taking my DSLR with me and having the responsibility of it, the weight of it and the size of it for a whole 11 months would be a wise choice (please correct me if you think I am very wrong).

I have therefore decided to take a Sony a6000 as my camera (again, please correct me if you think there's a better option for me (below £500)). It's got an EVF (which I think is essential) and allows you to easily customise more settings than a simple point-and-shoot. I really want this level of control after having gotten use to my Canon DSLR.

I have now started looking at lenses but have encountered a few problems. I don't want the 16-50mm f3.5-5.6 Kit Lens so I need to find one or two other good quality lenses that:
  1. Produce high quality photos
  2. Are versatile enough to be sufficient for most of the stuff I want to do (street photography, landscapes, general touristy photography but I'm not too bothered about niche stuff like wildlife photography).
  3. Are cheap (after the camera I only have a limited budget of around £250 to spend on lenses)
I looked around and was not sure about the Sigma 30mm f2.8 DN Art (produces good quality photos, has a relatively low max. aperture at f2.8 but is a prime and doesn't utilise the 179 phase autofocus points of the Sony). This would be equivalent to a 45mm on a full frame.