Sport Portraits - Capturing the emotion! Your photos please!!

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All!

I've decided to set myself a little project this year - to step out of my comfort zone (wildlife / birding / macro) and do something a bit different!

I've been messing about with my camera for a few years, but I've never really set myself a project, so new year, new challenge!

The camera kit I have is not really suitable for catching long distance, fast-paced action, and I find when I've tried it previously it takes up so much concentration that I miss out on the enjoyment of going to watch...

So, my idea is to have a go at capturing some portraits (close up and environmental) of players / athletes / fans / spectators that show the emotions of being involved with sport. It will be based on local football, cricket, cycling, equestrian and motorsport... plus anything else I can get myself to!

I have no starting point for this, but a few ideas of what I want to achieve :)

So my question is: would any of you like to post up images you've taken that are not action shots, but that convey the emotional side of any sport - passion, joy, disappointment, exhaustion, commitment, partnership... ? The blood, sweat and tears that go into it!

Some very talented people on here, I'd love to see your work!

Great theme. Here's a couple I've taken recently. Not sure I fit the 'talented' category, but enjoy anyway.

Last edited:
They are fab @Photodiva - proper dedication when you take an instrument to the match!! Love the black and white :)

Last edited:
Good idea for a project, I had though about taking my camera to our local football ground but haven't done it yet. I look forward to seeing some of your results.