Studio/Portable Strobes

JohnBradbury

A jolly good egg!
Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
This morning I started a thread called 'Rotolight AEOS 2 / Anova Pro 2 - Thoughts, experiences?' to ask for some advice around the use of LED lights for photography. Although expensive they did seem to tick a lot of the boxes for me: lightweight, good performance on battery, excellent build quality. However, based on the responses I'm expanding my search to include none LED lights specifically for stills.

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to lighting.

I have a budget of around £2500 - £3000 which will need to include battery packs and modifiers.

I'm looking to shoot both studio and location based portraiture with weight and portability being the biggest factors for me.

Last edited:
That's a decent budget if it's just for stills, though big battery powered units will eat it up pretty quickly.

I wouldn't advise spending it all in one go though. If you're new to lighting, it's a very good idea to start small and simple with just one light and a softbox or umbrella plus reflector, and build from there. That's all you need for some excellent portraits and IMHO less is usually more with lighting. If you jump in with three lights you will end up with a mess of conflicting shadows and not know how to fix it.

With just one light, you will learn a lot quickly, about how light works and how size and distance effects everything, and get some great results. Then you won't need to ask basic stuff about what new products to get as you'll already have a pretty good idea. And we'd all be second guessing anyway as there's a lot of choice when you get into it, depending on what direction you want to take.