Watch - Semi macro

Edit My Images
Yes
This is my first attempt at semi-macro photography, and my firs shot with recently purchased Raynox DCR-150. i must say I am impressed with this "lens". The shot is aimed as a product shot.
24958258500_c8ed171b65_c.jpg

As a product shot, it should be toned down adding more control
over the specular lights.

The lack of micro definition is too apparent on the rim between
12 and 3. A dedicated macro lens could take care of that as well
as extension tubes but to the price of lesser DoF.

The composition is very appealing suggesting this product may
be found in a treasure chest full of pearls and other goodies.

— "First attempt"? …pretty cool Pietrach!

Thank you Kodiak Qc, could you please expand on the "lack of definition... between 12 and 3..." but in more of a laymans language? Do you means sharpness or contrast?

This image was shot using a closeup adapter and stacked in photoshop from 12 separate shots. Otherwise the DoF was too shallow.

Thank you Kodiak Qc, could you please expand on the "lack of definition... between 12 and 3..." but in more of a laymans language? Do you means sharpness or contrast?
The apparent lack of definition ocomes through the not so well
controlled specular surfaces.
This image was stacked in photoshop from 12 separate shots. Otherwise the DoF was too shallow.
Of course. The desired DoF could only be achieved in one shot
through the Scheimpflug effect on an optical bench.

What is "laymans"?

The apparent lack of definition ocomes through the not so well
controlled specular surfaces.

Thank you but I still struggle here. Do you mean the reflections on the inner gold ring, the one under the glass? There reflections are from the 1 and 2 hour mark and personally i think they should be here. Shouldn't they?

What is "laymans"?