What Tripod for long lens & Gimbal

I

Ian Wright

I have been reading through the threads and I am confused as to which tripod to go for.

I don't want to spend Gitzo money just yet as I am new to the hobby. I have been looking at a used KENRO TRIPOD 501C CARBON FIBRE. Any advice would be appreciated.

Well found spec that says Max load 14kg so that looks good for some heavy kit.

As for just how good it is in regard to rigidity, stability, low twist, and not affected by vibration.......etc, try to find some real world user reviews?

I don't want to spend Gitzo money just yet as I am new to the hobby

Understandable, really.

OTH, well chosen good stuff is always a good investment
and mediocre stuff is always a bad investment.

Say you find a used good stuff at say 2/3 of the new price
and divide it over ten years… pretty cheap and you still have
a resale value. Can't say the same things of a mediocre one.

Plus the tripod is nothing in the equation, the gear you're going
to trust safe on it IS!

Thank you folks. You are quite right Kodiak. Can anyone recommend a good one then and where I could perhaps find a used one in good condition?

Can anyone recommend a good one then and where I could perhaps find a used one in good condition?

My experience so far says that I would suggest
Gitzo Systematic 5 or 4… sure bets!

Count in a levelling base too!

I have seen a Sirui W-2204 Carbon Fibre Tripod on the bay which has an 18Kg loading. Selling here for £599 and from China / Hong kong £240 (ish) ..... I'm wondering if its worth a punt?

Selling here for £599 and from China / Hong kong £240 (ish) ..... I'm wondering if its worth a punt?

I just looked at it… 10 plíes CF is like 5 on Gitzo and
they have 6!!!

They say WATERPROOF proudly! Like saying the same
about umbrellas… what else to expect from an umbrella?

Buying these things is always getting easier but when it
come to service eventually ~…

No, I bought 4 Glitzo's at this point on this forum for my