Would you give your work away

Sometimes at cost only,looking long term and dependant on what other work the recipient could get for you........(y)

To give an example.........

I have done a reasonable amount of track day photography and as such skim through shots when sorting to sell. Sometimes you come upon THAT shot, and it's of someone who hasn't paid to purchase. As an amateur I really want that guy to contact me so he will get THAT shot, even if it's for free.

Sometimes at cost only,looking long term and dependant on what other work the recipient could get for you........(y)

I agree, every case has to be taken on its own merits and sometimes you have to look at the long game. I gave some equine images away at the weekend to the people who are training our horse and they loved them, these people are minted and their daughter (the recipient) and her friends are all of a marrying age so I should be in the running at any forthcoming nuptials.

i also give some away to local charities I support but in these instances I am not looking to gain anything from it.

I have too, in return for the permission to use the shot myself for promotional purposes. :)

I give the farm any pics i take up there for use in advertising their farm shop, i now have total free range of the place to take pics but in return we get cheaper meat, horse looked after free ect. More of 'looking after each other' system. I was also asked last year to take some pics of the wedding marquee set up before it got trashed with the guests when one of them got married,something new for me.

Would you give your work away?

Yep, can't imagine anyone paying good money for it!

Most of the pics I take that are any good are sold and the money goes to charity. It's just the way it is for me. I get pleasure from doing this and raising money for a cause very close to my heart. I suppose in that respect I give away most of my pics for free.