1. john.margetts

    john.margetts

    Messages:
    1,946
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    How hard are you leaning on that film advance lever? You have a well engineered piece of German equipment - it only needs a gentle touch to advance the film.
     
    Andysnap likes this.
  2. excalibur2

    excalibur2 My F4's Broken...

    Messages:
    9,526
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    :eek::eek::eek:
    Similar here once when you come to the end of the film and the wind on lever goes about 2/3rds of the way and you force that little bit more to get a shot..well I didn't ripped the film but ruined the camera and an expensive repair...lesson learnt and never done it again.
     
    Andysnap likes this.
  3. Andysnap

    Andysnap POTY (Film) 2015

    Messages:
    15,282
    Name:
    Andy Grant
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I know, I know. I'm bloody great heavy-handed oaf. :facepalm:
     
    ChrisR and Mrs Snap like this.
  4. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It's no good, we'll have to get him a 126 instamatic. ;)
     
    john.margetts and Andysnap like this.
  5. RaglanSurf

    RaglanSurf Forum Idiot'13/14 FPOTY'17

    Messages:
    10,304
    Name:
    Nick
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    :banghead:
     
  6. Strappy

    Strappy

    Messages:
    3,036
    Name:
    Dean
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Bloody hipsters with their Lomo light leak photos ... :shifty:
     
    RaglanSurf and Mrs Snap like this.
  7. excalibur2

    excalibur2 My F4's Broken...

    Messages:
    9,526
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The joys of using a camera that you haven't used much...well being a filmie sometimes means you take shots put the camera away and forget what you'd taken. So took Chinon CP-7m out for a shoot and it showed 11 shots taken, well got to number 25 and thought I wont be greedy and settle for that on a 24 exp roll..AAMOI covered the lens and viewfinder and fired to see if I was near the end anyway and it went to 32 before stopping WTF.
    So had the film not wound on at some time (or whatever) h'mm I'll only know when the film comes back :(
     
  8. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Now what sort of person would make a pig's ear of something as simple as putting a film in a camera? :wave: At least it sounds like you might have some shots on there. You didn't by any chance wind the film on by manually rotating the take up spool the wrong way like I think I did last time? Next time I'll use the film advance lever to wind the leader on, so it turns the right way. :eggface:
     
  9. excalibur2

    excalibur2 My F4's Broken...

    Messages:
    9,526
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well Mr Badger it's one of those cameras that winds on the leader automatically o_O The shots I was taking really needs a modern camera with shutter speeds that go for example 1000 to 16 secs (even on manual)... the KR 10-super is another one of those cameras Why? well using a flash off camera in between shutter timing and it's a bit inconvenient using a very long shutter cable and counting elephants with an old camera. :eek:
    Why I think of it:- get your cameras ready guys for fireworks....I think Diwali is on the 19th of this month, then of course the 5th.
     
  10. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I see, in that case could the leader not have not caught and been picked up by the take up spool for a few frames? I've got a couple of those 'insert leader up to the orange mark' type auto-load cameras (EOS3 and a Sureshot Supreme compact) and I'm always a bit apprehensive that the film won't load properly, but it usually seems to. Ironically, it was my Canon A1 I made a dog's dinner of loading, and I've owned that getting on for 40 years, so no I've no excuse. I even used to load it while standing up in semi-darkness at music gigs; apparently now I can't even manage it sitting down in a well-lit café! :facepalm:
     
  11. excalibur2

    excalibur2 My F4's Broken...

    Messages:
    9,526
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    All will be revealed when I get the negs back :eek:
     
  12. RaglanSurf

    RaglanSurf Forum Idiot'13/14 FPOTY'17

    Messages:
    10,304
    Name:
    Nick
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    So this does not strictly belong in this thread as no film was harmed in this sorry tale.

    I was out yesterday taking my FPOTY shot for October, (I know this is a little early for me as it does mean I will hopefully get my films back from the processors before the last day of the month) and I decided to finish up some rolls in various cameras. So I took took the FE, the F100 and a couple of backs for the Hasselblad.

    I had a great shoot and was feeling very positive on my way back home, sure I had something good in the bag for this month. Imagine my disappointment this morning when I opened one of the Hassy backs only to find nothing in it at all, not the wrong film shot at the wrong speed, not mangled, not wrongly spooled, not ripped to shreds, nothing, nothing, nothing. Oh FFS :banghead:
     
    Andysnap, ChrisR and stevelmx5 like this.
  13. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    That has to be the work of gremlins, Nick, no other logical explanation for it. ;)
     
    RaglanSurf likes this.
  14. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Joe

    Messages:
    9,358
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I did that a couple of years ago. It was a lovely, misty morning and I was photographing things on the seafront. When the frame counter on my FE2 got to 41, I realised what was wrong!


    Steve.
     
    RaglanSurf likes this.
  15. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Look on the bright side, think what you've saved on the cost of film and processing! :D
     
  16. RaglanSurf

    RaglanSurf Forum Idiot'13/14 FPOTY'17

    Messages:
    10,304
    Name:
    Nick
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The daft thing is I’ve got into the habit of putting labels on to my film backs with either film ID or empty, according to my foolproof method I had a roll of Acros in one back and I swear in my head it had some of the best shots I’d ever taken!
     
    ChrisR likes this.
  17. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Snip:
    They wouldn't have been as good as those shots I took at the Black Country Living Museum. ;):eggface::facepalm:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
    RaglanSurf likes this.
  18. excalibur2

    excalibur2 My F4's Broken...

    Messages:
    9,526
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Without getting the negs back seeing two jpgs from filmdev and they are double exposed..dunno why they didn't scan them all as I paid for them, but then maybe they are all blanks. When this happens to any of us we should learn something but when CP-7m worked perfectly before it's a mystery....the other mystery was the Nikon FM did the same thing but worked perfectly before and after...erm the common factor is me o_O:eek:,
     
  19. MatBin

    MatBin

    Messages:
    3,861
    Name:
    matt
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Canon ef-m is motorised, runs the film out on loading and winds it back in again after every shot. Agreed it's not high precision German engineering (or even high precision) but it might stop films getting ripped?
     
  20. MatBin

    MatBin

    Messages:
    3,861
    Name:
    matt
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    You could always look to see if the rewind crank is turning :)
    All the world loves a smart......#
    Sorry.
    Matt
     
  21. mdjchat

    mdjchat

    Messages:
    460
    Name:
    Mathew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Not exactly ruined but...

    I did my first ever bulk loading of film a few weeks ago. Loaded up 20 cassettes and trimmed the leader of each one. Anyhow I decided to use a roll earlier and realised that I have trimmed all the leaders upside down.

    Lesson learned, don't bulk load late at night when you're knackered.
     
  22. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    8,533
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well, not the whole roll of film. I loaded a roll of Superia 400 into my Pentax LX earlier in the week, and as usual moved the shutter speed dial off 'Automatic' (ie aperture priority) prior to firing off those first couple of blank frames. Went out with some friends and shot a couple of shots inside a rather nice tiny church; I was very confused at the shutter sound, which didn't sound at all right for 1/4 second. Then yesterday I went bluebell hunting, lots of nice shots in the woods... before I suddenly noticed (at shot 18) that it was still set to 1/2000 shutter speed! So I'm not hoping for much from the first half of that roll... :(
     
    Mr Badger and kendo1 like this.
  23. kendo1

    kendo1

    Messages:
    6,771
    Name:
    Ken
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ^ Wally :)

    If you don't put enough developer in...

    [​IMG]
     
    ChrisR and Andysnap like this.
  24. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    2,402
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    The roll of Fuji Pro 400H I put in my Yashicamat didn't attach to the spool correctly, and started slipping as I was winding it on. Cue unspooling it and trying to re-feed it in the middle of a park. I managed to get it back on ok, but on taking the first shot of the roll the winder jammed. After a bit of jiggling, I managed to get it to wind-on and take another shot, although I wasn't confident of the results. In the end I got this oddly appealing double-exposure that kinda looks like it has a reflection at the bottom.

    FILM - Accidental double-exposure.jpg

    The rest of the roll came out fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2018
    RaglanSurf, srichards and StephenM like this.
  25. Asha

    Asha Blithering Idiot

    Messages:
    7,683
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Tachihara outfit with newly attached Bausch lens/shutter test for sharpness etc.

    Loaded just one sheet of fomapan film.

    Shot frame.

    Developed and removed a COMPLETELY CLAER NEGATIVE.from the tank!

    On reflection I know what I did wrong.

    The film holder was inserted the wrong way round thus I attempted to register an image on the empty side :banghead::crying:

    We all know what I'll be doing tomorrow don't we?:rolleyes::D:D
     
    StephenM and RaglanSurf like this.
  26. steveo_mcg

    steveo_mcg

    Messages:
    5,780
    Name:
    Steven
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Learning how to mark your darkslides? :D
     
  27. Asha

    Asha Blithering Idiot

    Messages:
    7,683
    Edit My Images:
    No
    That's just it, the empty side had its darkslide showing black as if already exposed so it was clear ' to non idiots" :pwhich side housed enexposed film!
     
  28. steveo_mcg

    steveo_mcg

    Messages:
    5,780
    Name:
    Steven
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Doh! Could have been worse could have double exposed a keeper
     
    Asha likes this.
  29. BADGER.BRAD

    BADGER.BRAD

    Messages:
    482
    Name:
    BRAD
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Tell your grandson when he asks to see the photos that they are inside the camera causing him to open it to have a look !!!
     
    Harlequin565, simon ess and ChrisR like this.
  30. Harlequin565

    Harlequin565

    Messages:
    3,167
    Name:
    Ian
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Not a whole ruined film, but mostly ruined. :(

    Shot 1 : Wound in the film with the shutter open.
    Shot 2 : Lens cap on.
    Shot 3 : Lens cap on, but realised before winding on this time. 2nd attempt massively under exposed because I knocked the aperture lever while faffing about.
    Shot 4 : Success!

    It's very frustrating (and embarassing) sending a film off and getting one usable photo back. Lesson learned though. Now I have a list in my notebook...
     
  31. Woodsy

    Woodsy POTY Winner 2009

    Messages:
    7,188
    Name:
    Jonathan
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I think I've found a new way!

    Trusting Mr Cad to tell you everything about the film loaded into the DDS's that you've just bought from them and then going on to assume that the film is probably ok, taking a photo on a single frame, and it coming back basically blank.

    So yeah, bought 2x DDS's from MrCad, loaded with Provia 100F they say. Good I think! How old are they and when did they come in, I ask. Oh, they came in yesterday they say. Great! Turns out, the film had likely been stored at oven temperature for about 6 millennia, as the frame came back almost blank, without even the emulsion code. Live and learn eh?! :)
     
  32. Asha

    Asha Blithering Idiot

    Messages:
    7,683
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Ooops I thought that was how we're suposed to store film!:confused::D
     
  33. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Only photographs of sprouts! :D
     
  34. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    2,402
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I just opened the back of the camera with which I shot 21 frames of Portra 160 today. :facepalm:
     
  35. Asha

    Asha Blithering Idiot

    Messages:
    7,683
    Edit My Images:
    No
    :facepalm:
    It's a changing of clocks syndrome:D…..I devd a roll of delta that has taken me about a year to finish in the M4, only to find that half of it is completely blank ( the day that i shot the most frames at the local agricultaral show)…..It obviously isn't the camera at fault as the other frames are fine so I reckon I've done the classic rangefinder error and left the lens cap on!!:facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:
     
  36. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    3,192
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    If you closed it quickly enough you'll probably find most of it has survived OK. I did this earlier this year when the auto rewind failed on my EOS 30 (trip to Miles sorted it, just a bit of debris in the gearing). I was expecting a disaster but only lost about four of the last shots I took, the rest were fine. Hope you get away as lightly. (y)

    (Unless of course it was your shots for the FPOTY, in which case I'm sure they're all totally ruined and simply not worth spending the money on to have developed. It's just dashed hard cheese, old chap) :whistle: ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
    FishyFish likes this.
  37. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    2,402
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yeah, fingers crossed that some have survived. There's at least one shot that I'd really hoped would be a good one - for its own sake, not for the comp. I could kick myself!
     
    Mr Badger likes this.
  38. Harlequin565

    Harlequin565

    Messages:
    3,167
    Name:
    Ian
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Somehow managed to run a roll of Velvia 50 through my TLR back to front. I'm surprising even myself at the moment.
     
  39. VirtualAdept

    VirtualAdept

    Messages:
    1,771
    Name:
    Mads
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I did that but it was an old roll of jessops R17.
     
  40. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    8,533
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    This is why if I have a rangefinder it MUST have a meter! The number of times with my Leitz CL (which has a funny meter on a stick thing) that I've thought "darn it, that meter's not working again" and tried shaking and knocking the camera to dislodge it, only to realise that the lens cap was indeed still on!
     
    Asha likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice