Beginner Beginners advice

Edit My Images
No
Hi everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I am hoping to acquire some very beginning experience and product advice. I consider myself a complete newbie to photography.

I have a number of nice holidays coming up this year and have been thinking of buying a decent camera to take holiday pictures. At the moment, I take all of my photos with my iPhone, and although the quality is good, I tend to use only some basic settings and do little with the pictures, afterwards. Most of them just end up forever in a folder on my phone.

I am hoping to create some better memories - in a few weeks time I am traveling to Japan and I am considering buying a camera for this trip and getting to grips with some of the basics of photography. I have a bit of free time this month to research.

With regards to the camera, I am looking for something which obviously produces good quality pictures, has sufficient functionality, but that is not the heaviest to carry. Something that I can carry with me comfortable when I am out for a day. I am also thinking of a price range in the hundreds of pounds rather than the thousands - I am after all a beginner. If there are cameras with a particularly easy method to transfer photos from the camera to my laptop or phone, that would be handy. What I plan to do with the photos? Nothing too complex - I will probably post some on social media, share some with family and friends, and use some for photo books. I do not expect to spend hours on editing photos, but I might do some basic editing afterwards.

Once I have bought a camera, I plan of course to spend some time and effort on understanding all the features to ensure I start taking better photos.

Now my question is where do I start. Has anybody got any useful advice for me, good sources of information, product recommendations? What would be suitable for a newbie like me?

Thanks very much - Londontown