1. Steve B

    Steve B

    Messages:
    831
    Name:
    Steve Bennett
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thats what I thought at first, but this was the day after the M50 announcement apparently, so not so sure now?
    Could be crossed wires of course, time will tell:)
     
  2. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    WHY IS IT WHEN YOU PUT A POST UP REQUESTING SOME HELP OR INPUT ,JUST LATELY IT GETS BURIED IN A QUOTE LADEN NIT PICKING FEW REPLIES ,AND VIRTUALLY ALWAYS FROM THE SAME PEOPLE .IT IS GETTING BORING NOW

    if you think this means you ,please don't quote me ,just take some chill pills!!!!!
     
  3. Hugh Jarse

    Hugh Jarse

    Messages:
    5,053
    Name:
    Steve
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  4. Swissy

    Swissy

    Messages:
    1,844
    Name:
    Giovanni
    Edit My Images:
    No


    Sorry i can't answer your first question, but regarding Eglobal, i've bought a few camera's and lenses from them and it's all been good so far, they're very cheap(grey), only downside is, it can take up to 2 weeks for your item to arrive.
     
    the black fox likes this.
  5. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    cheers ,just had a look on there own site and the camera is £30 cheaper than there e.bay site ,will close the deal later with a bit more thinking
     
  6. michael23

    michael23

    Messages:
    13,975
    Name:
    Michael
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Interesting, not see that before.
     
  7. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,519
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Sorry if its already mentioned but what are the thoughts on the M50 ?
     
  8. Phil V

    Phil V

    Messages:
    21,458
    Name:
    Phil
    Edit My Images:
    No
    4K video, new faster processor and a proper flappy screen. But fewer twiddly knobs.
    There’s short video reviews above. Feelings are mixed.
    I think in 6 months it’ll be a bargain.
     
    Mike.P and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  9. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....You might already know this, Jeff, but there is often a difference in price between a supplier's own online shop and the price from the same supplier advertised by eBay or Amazon. I have found that Amazon often offer the same goods from the same supplier at a cheaper price. I never buy from eBay as a matter of principle as I do not trust eBay/Paypal, but that's another story and off topic.

    If the original supplier (physical shipper) is more expensive, then they are usually willing to match the cheaper Amazon/eBay price if you phone and ask. This is another reason to build good personal relationships with suppliers who appreciate your business - I always buy by phone if I can. The reason for price differences in the case of Amazon is them wielding purchasing leverage. Less profit margin on a sold unit versus more profit margin on less units sold = More overall profit < Hopefully that makes sense!
     
  10. Swissy

    Swissy

    Messages:
    1,844
    Name:
    Giovanni
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Weird because i have never bought any photo equipment from Amazon, as in my experience their prices are not competitive.
     
  11. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....Me neither but I was looking at a LaCie Rugged portable HD on Amazon which came up in a Google search and noticed it was coming from a retail supplier I already knew well enough to phone and who volunteered to match Amazon's lower price.

    I would never want to buy cameras or lenses from Amazon or indeed from anywhere other than retailers I already know and trust.
     
  12. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    having a total re-think on this ,basically I just want something light weight to bolt onto my sigma 150 macro ,to save swopping lenses over. begining to wonder if the top end bodies are a step to far (also having heard of compatabilty issues with the sigma lenses on some models ) so I'm starting to wonder whether its worth just getting a mark1m body and adaptor instead and saving a few hundred quid .
    any thoughts ???
     
  13. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....That's EXACTLY why I bought an EOS M5 plus EF Adapter < To save me faffing around changing lenses when shooting the same subject and trying to get closer with the Macro. The only difference is me using a Canon Macro 100mm + x1.4 Kenko instead of a Sigma 150mm Macro.

    I have no experience at all of the other Canon M bodies but can state without any hesitation whatsoever that the M5 can deliver RAW image quality which is indistinguishable from my 7D2. Checking my 'EOS M5' Album on Flickr should support my statement.

    https://www.flickr.com/photos/114775606@N07/albums/72157683996949495

    [I am NOT trying to persuade you, Jeff, to buy my M5 although I expect to offer it for sale soon-ish] I shall not be replacing it with a M50 or next version M5 as I prefer my 5D4 (bought after the M5) for macro and can now easily carry my 7D2 as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
    GeeJay57 likes this.
  14. HarveyM

    HarveyM

    Messages:
    370
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have a 5D2 and a Tamron 90mm F2.8 macro lens and find the combination rather unwieldy for handheld macro work, my wife finds the combination impossible to use because of the weight. I do think that the EOS M makes sense with a macro lens, especially as Magic Lantern is available for this model. There is obviously no viewfinder, but Magic Lantern can be set to display focus peaking on the rear display, so what is, and what is not in focus, is very clear. Certainly worthy of consideration if a low price body and converter can be sourced.
     
    Phiggys likes this.
  15. GeeJay57

    GeeJay57

    Messages:
    1,787
    Name:
    Glenn
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I have a 7DII which I use most of the time. But also an EOS M (got one when Argos were blowing them out for £199, proper bargain) with an EF adaptor for times when I want to bolt a big lens on. I did have a Sigma 300mm f/2.8 with 2.0x TC on at one time. Looked a bit silly on the tripod, but it worked a treat.

    I mainly use it with the EF-M 18-55 kit lens it came with when I just want something compact to walk about with. But when my 50D failed in Iceland, the EOS M came in very handy for the rest of the trip and the images were/are every bit as good as the 50D and compare well to those from the 7DII.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
    Phiggys likes this.
  16. michael23

    michael23

    Messages:
    13,975
    Name:
    Michael
    Edit My Images:
    No
    From dpreview's what you need to know


    M50 buffer, 1 second
    Eye Af, Limited to Single Focus Mode
    Silent mode is a scene mode, no control of exposure.

    I suppose I should remember it's an entry level camera, but...

    @the black fox I reckon an original M body would be sufficient if you are just going to stick the macro on it, and if you don't mind the fixed screen.
     
  17. Hugh Jarse

    Hugh Jarse

    Messages:
    5,053
    Name:
    Steve
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    So is their intended demographic is Social Media/snap shooters and prople who won’t need all the modes?
     
  18. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    will probably go for the m3 for the tilting screen , gotta watch the pension pennies
     
  19. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    deed done got a brand new M3 with lens at a affordable price from a u.k retailer . anyone selling a adaptor at the right price.


    Change that just been notified it’s not brand new ,order now cancelled will order a used one from wex later on grrrr
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  20. Phil V

    Phil V

    Messages:
    21,458
    Name:
    Phil
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Buy a 3rd party one, it’s only a spacer with electrical connections.
     
  21. michael23

    michael23

    Messages:
    13,975
    Name:
    Michael
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I have the meike version and works fine on the original M
     
    cmcm789 and Hugh Jarse like this.
  22. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....But make sure it's well built and with a metal mount like a proper Canon one. Buy cheap, buy twice! And if your expensive EF lens gets broken with it failing, the damage is even worse.

    Honestly, how much are you going to save by buying a third-party one? Absolutely not worth it in my opinion.
     
  23. Hugh Jarse

    Hugh Jarse

    Messages:
    5,053
    Name:
    Steve
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I have the original and Meike adapters

    No issues with the Meike model the Canon one can be a pain as the tripod mount can loosen, nearly lost my 70-200 L due to that. Little drop of rubber cement solved that.
     
  24. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    update cancelled order for the original one with the lens and awaiting PayPal refund ,just ordered a used condition ( 9 ) M3 from wex and saved £100 .someone has been in touch re-adaptor so awaiting a price on that and go from there .
     
  25. HarveyM

    HarveyM

    Messages:
    370
    Edit My Images:
    No
  26. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    thanks just bought a mieke one ,had the brand before on a mk1 with no problems
     
  27. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,519
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I take it there was no M4?
     
  28. magicolor1

    magicolor1

    Messages:
    1,024
    Name:
    Simon
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Nope.
    The Japanese rarely come out with camera models with the number 4 in them as the Japanese for 4 sounds like the word for death.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  29. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,519
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Struth,
    I am seriously looking to buy an M camera but there are hundreds of models lol.
    sensor wise M6 M5 M50 are they about the same?
    M6 has Ibis I think and im guessing the M50 too,im not that into 4K so dont want to pay xtra for that so maybe M5 or M6,no VF in 6?
    I wish they would consolidate a bit more.
     
  30. Hugh Jarse

    Hugh Jarse

    Messages:
    5,053
    Name:
    Steve
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The M5/M6 are basically the same internally spec wise. The M5 has the built in EVF and there is an external EVF for the M6 (it can use the EVF1 which was brought out for the EOS M3 ot the EVF2 which is the restyle foe the EOS M6. The M3/M5/M6 all use the same LP-E17 battery.

    For me the M6 is a lovely walkabout camera and with the 22mm pancake lens close to awesome, but the M5 is first choice. Handle both and see which you are comfortable with.
     
    Phil V and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  31. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,519
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    yeah been watching a few vids, quite impressed.thanks
     
  32. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I only went for the M3 due to funds ,if it warrants a upgrade later in the year then I won’t lose much on it
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  33. Ulfric M Douglas

    Ulfric M Douglas

    Messages:
    2,041
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well I think its the best "M" yet.
    Like a Panasonic G3 but uglier and better.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  34. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,519
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Anyone find they keep accidently press the rec button on m5?
     
  35. Phil V

    Phil V

    Messages:
    21,458
    Name:
    Phil
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I had to look for the rec button :whistle:
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  36. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....Yes, it's a commonly reported gripe. However, it's easily solved if you are a stills only shooter (like me) by switching it off in settings.

    Something I really dislike about these small M cameras is the Back-Button-Focus button is halfway off the grip and too easy for your finger to slip off - Also tricky to find when you are in the viewfinder. On the other hand the peak focussing display in the viewfinder (M5) plus manual focus instead of AF, is a nice feature - Except when the viewfinder is on the darker side and there are times when you want to intentionally underexpose an shot. I'm not sure I like mirrorless cameras that much.

    ....I don't know about the M6 but the M5 and M50 have Canon's Dual-Pixel APS-C sensor which is more or less the same as in the 80D and 7D2.

    I can tell you without any doubt whatsoever that resulting images from the M5 (mounting the same EF lenses) are absolutely the same high image quality as from the 7D2 as I shoot with both. My 'EOS M5' Album on my Flickr pages illustrate this < You be the judge.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2018
    SsSsSsSsSnake and Phil V like this.
  37. Hugh Jarse

    Hugh Jarse

    Messages:
    5,053
    Name:
    Steve
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The M6 has the same Dual-Pixel sensor as the M5.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and RedRobin like this.
  38. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    this m3 which I know is no good for moving subjects will be my third foray into the M series ,my best mate is doing extremely well with a M5 and 400mm f5.6 hand held to .once up and running with the m3 I might contemplate downsizing to the same as him ,as age is catching me up fast and taking some of the pleasure out of things .will most certainly be trying out his rig to see anyway

    has anyone else made the switch from full size bodies to the eos.m system totally .and if so what advantages and/or problems have you encountered along the way ?? I know theres a couple on here that have for medical reasons your thoughts would be helpful
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2018
  39. the black fox

    the black fox

    Messages:
    5,929
    Name:
    Jeff
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Got the adaptor ,just waiting on the body now .hopefully in the morning
     
  40. RedRobin

    RedRobin

    Messages:
    4,019
    Name:
    Robin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    ....I haven't made the switch but I do use both EOS M5 body with adapter and D-SLR bodies, all on EF lenses. It's a personal thing but I find the M5 body's controls a bit too small. I lent a friend of mine my M5 to try out on his Canon 400mm F/5.6L and although he was impressed by the image quality he felt the same as myself and has since bought a 5D4 instead!

    I think it's not a question of weight but more of balance and enjoying having full control at your fingertips. Otherwise just go out and buy any compact camera and only shoot in auto mode.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice