Beginner D5200 photos aren't sharp?

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all!

I bought my first DSLR camera not long ago (Nikon D5200) and I've been trying out different modes and settings. My photos just don't seem to be as sharp as I was hoping for my first DSLR. I've seen pictures taken by other people with D5200's and I know this camera can produce great photos! The lens I'm using is the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR. I realise that as a very beginner photographer my photos aren't going to be incredible, but I was hoping someone might have some tips or suggestions to help me improve or to suggest why I might be getting soft shots.

Thanks very much!

Hi

Welcome to TP.

What focus mode are you using, shutter speed etc?

Might be worth uploading a picture which you are not happy with included the exif data and I am sure the experts will help.

Thanks

Hi all!

I bought my first DSLR camera not long ago (Nikon D5200) and I've been trying out different modes and settings. My photos just don't seem to be as sharp as I was hoping for my first DSLR. I've seen pictures taken by other people with D5200's and I know this camera can produce great photos! The lens I'm using is the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR. I realise that as a very beginner photographer my photos aren't going to be incredible, but I was hoping someone might have some tips or suggestions to help me improve or to suggest why I might be getting soft shots.

Thanks very much!

Welcome to TP :)

There a couple of possibilities. Either the subject is not properly focused, or there is movement blur from either subject movement or camera-shake, or both, caused by too long a shutter speed.

Post a sample image with camera settings info - it's usually quite easy to tell what the problem is.

Hey guys, really sorry to be a newbie, how do I attach a photo to my comment? Thanks for the replies!!