Editing software

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
sorry probably asked 1000s of times but what editing software would you suggest to a total novice I’ve been using the free version of lightroom on my phone I just don’t want to make the mistake of buying the wrong editing program

KR
Gary

sorry probably asked 1000s of times but what editing software would you suggest to a total novice I’ve been using the free version of lightroom on my phone I just don’t want to make the mistake of buying the wrong editing program

KR
Gary
There's a very simple way to avoid the mistake of buying the wrong editing program: use free image editing software! There's plenty around. What kind of total novice are you? What camera are you taking photographs with? What kind of photographs do you take? What kinds of editing do you want to do? How did you find lightroom? Did it doe everything you wanted? Was it easy to use? Was it too complicated?

Unfortunately there is no one right answer. There are many programs out there that will do as little or as much as you need, including some newer ones which seem to be mainly recipe driven (i.e, you click on a recipe and it does a heap of work for you).

It also depends on how much editing you wish to do and if you are looking for some form of asset management (cataloguing).

I'd say or suspect the de-facto standard is LightRoom and Photoshop which is mainly available as a subscription approx £11 per month. LR is easy enough ti use, is feature rich and has an excellent cataloguing system, PS for detailed work. I'd guess that the bulk of photographers use this combo. LR also has a set or presets (or recipes).

Luminar looks interesting and is inexpensive, but appears to be recipe driven and no cataloguing.

Capture One is a powerful piece of software (I find it clunky, others love it ...) - not sure about its cataloguing though. I really don't like the way it demosaics either, I find if you are not careful with it, it gives muddy results.