First camera help

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello good people and thank you for taking on a complete novice. I'm looking at getting in to photography and have confused myself with reviews.
I have I "think" narrowed down my choices down to 3 cameras that sit in budget £600 -650.

1. Canon 250d kit with 18-55 and 50mm lenses
2. canon 800d with 18-55mm
3. Nikon D5600 with 18-55mm and 70 - 300. this is above the budget but is it worth the extra £50

Anybody using these setups pros and cons. I aware ill need to add new lenses along the way. New to all this so I'll be shooting everything at first. But its main uses will be family, pets, holidays landscapes...

Why restrict yourself to DSLRs?

Mirrorless is a more than viable alternative these days.

I'd recommend an Olympus EM10 kit from these people.

It'll get you up & running with a couple of lenses to start with.

https://www.hdewcameras.co.uk/olympus-e-m10-iii-twin-kit-14-42-ez40-150-silver-8060-p.asp

I've got the EM5 MK2 and it's superb and has the same sensor as the EM10 MK3 and, unlike mine, has 4k video recording.

With that kit you'll have a full frame equivalent of between 28mm & 300mm which should suffice to get you started.

Terry.

Get a used Nikon d7000 and 50mm 1.8g and a kit zoom lens.

Id not really looked at mirrorless camera or Olympus cameras to be fair. Only reason id stuck to nikon and canon dslr cameras was because of the vast number of used lenses etc to cut down on initial set up cost of adding extra kit.

The D7000 is a bit to bulky/heavy and is missing a few features im wanting on the camera maily bluetooth/wifi and its a fixed screen.

I'd do some further research on Olympus before making any new purchases today: https://fstoppers.com/news/olympus-responds-rumors-its-camera-division-closing-down-428075 [caveat - not read this in detail, but I'd want to know about it if I was considering buying]