Image quality question

Name
Mattias
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

Recently purchased a D5600 with a Sigma 150-600mm C, I had high expections since I've been shooting with a Coolpix P900 (Which took really good pictures at full focal length hand-held). Below are two pictures I took today, the Swan was taken with teleconverter TC-1401 on tripod and the Tit hand-held without teleconverter. Since I'm new in the DSLR world, I'm wondering if this is what I can expect, honestly I would have liked to see a little more detail. The pictures are unedited, shot in 12-bit raw, they were converted to jpeg with highest quality/lowest compression. Your ideas and opinions greatly appreciated.

A

A

How can I show the pictures?

You need to have them hosted somewhere on the web (EG Flickr, or your own website), then in your post click the Image icon (15th along on the row above the post edit area).

Up will pop a box for you to post the URL - just copy the location in, and it should appear.

The is a tutorial for Flick here https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/tutorials/inserting-images-from-flickr-updated-22-08-15.7/
https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/tutorials/inserting-images-from-flickr-updated-22-08-15.7/
Difficult to comment without seeing the images, but getting shots right with a long lens like hte 150-600 takes a bit of work, even more so with a teleconverter.

On a tripod you need to have image stabilisation off, and hand held you need to have a decent shutter speed - the 'rule of thumb' is 1/Focal length or faster - so at 600mm that's 1/600 or faster (eg 1/1000).

What tripod do you have? (The 150-600 will need a reasonable tripod, as it's a fairly long and heavy lens).

Use Flickr, you can upload full size to Flickr and show a smaller version on here and people can go back to your Flickr to see full size if necessary.