Image to print confusion

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all... Noob here and this is probably a stupid question but.

If 12 megapixels is 4000 x 3000 pixels and a 4k TV is 3840 x 2160 pixels (about 8 megapixels) and the image on my 42" 4k TV is razor sharp, why can I not enlarge a 12 megapixel photo to a print the size of my TV?

Thanks

Regards

Last edited:

If 12 megapixels is 4000 x 3000 pixels and a 4k TV is 3840 x 2160 pixels (about 8 megapixels) and the image on my 42" 4k TV is razor sharp, why can I not enlarge a 12 megapixel photo to a print the size of my TV?

Thanks

Regards
Hi and welcome to TP

In regard to your question and my understanding, so FWIW

You are confusing pixel dimensions in regard to a TV and the requirements of a print.

If you want a print @300dpi (this is the optimal print resolution for many printers) you will need a considerably higher pixel count!

I have no idea (without calculating it) the X x Y inches a 42inch TV is but let's say a print of 42" longest dimension would need to be 12,600 pixels to print @300 dpi.

HTH:)

PS I use Gigapixel AI to enlarge my files as needed to create my prints as/if required.

Last edited:
Welcome to the site. :)

Just had a look, and the dimensions of a 42" TV screen is 38.1 inches x 24.9 inches. Interestingly, they say the ideal viewing distance for an 42-inch TV is around 6 to 7 feet. That's possibly further than most people may view a print of that size from, dependent on placement. It says the pixels per inch inch of a 4k 42" TV is 104.9, far less than the usual 300 dpi printing resolution.

On large prints/screens, mostly viewed from a distance, lowering the dpi is not unusual. Dividing 4000 by 38 gives 105.2, so very similar to the 42" screen resolution. You could print a 12Mp image of 38.1 inches x 24.9 inches at 105 dpi, and side by side with the TV at 6 to 7 feet, the images should look pretty similar, for image sharpness anyway.