Beginner Is my lens faulty?

Edit My Images
Yes
I have recently bought a DSLR camera and was given an old Tamron 28-200 71DE AF lens. I'm aware I shouldn't be expecting a professional quality lens but this is OK as I'm just starting out so don't want to splash out loads of money just yet. However, all the photos I have taken with it don't look great (example attached), nothing looks sharp at all. I have tried various zooms and a mixture of manual and autofocus. The attached example was just taken using the camera's (Canon 40D) automatic setting, but I did try aperture priority and shutter priority too and similar results. This was one of the better pictures I took...

I also have a 50mm prime lens. The photos on this look really good, so I'm trying to work out the reason for the big difference.

What are your thoughts? Is it just a rubbish lens, is it faulty or am I an incompetent photographer?

Thanks for your help.

105346-5be6eeef5cc0c4ec353b47177cbf4f95.jpg

It is impossible to tell from that little thumbnail, but begs the question
In a scene like that what details are you expecting to be sharp?

I have seen people expecting to get sharp foliage detail in the far distance, not happening.

Maybe provide a bigger photo and some additional details like where was your focus point

Can you post a proper sized version, preferably from Flickr or suchlike with the exif intact so we can see the photo and settings?

Hi,

Apologies. I'm new to this forum. I just assumed you'd be able to click on the photo to see a full size version.

https://flic.kr/p/VS6eVw

The tree was supposed to be the in focus bit.

Thanks

Yes it looks like it's all out of focus.

Have you tried focusing manually?

What focus points / modes are you using?

Do you have a UV or 'protection filter' attached to the lens?

Yes, the lens has an AF/MF switch. I have tried both the autofocus and focusing manually with similar results.