Newborn baby photos - tips required!

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys,

I've been asked by some close friends to take some pictures of their newborn baby due at the end of this month. I've said that yes I can do it but with the caveat that I've never done posed people photography before so don't expect professional results (I do mostly landscape). I've been doing lots of research on the subject and have come up with a game plan:
- I will not be doing any special poses as obviously I'm not trained and don't want to make the baby uncomfortable, and I will ask the mother to make any adjustments as required
- I'll make sure there is a fan heater there to keep the baby warm enough + plenty of blankets/wraps as required
- I'll also have some nice soothing sounds playing for the baby
- to ensure I get nice shallow DOF I will borrow my dad's D7100 and rent a Sigma 35 f1.4 & a Nikon 60mm macro lens
- we will have the baby on their sofa with someone nice and close to keep him/her safe, and use blankets as a backdrop held up by another person
- I'll get a mix of really simple wide shots (top down - ensuring the strap is round my neck of course, and side on), plus some macro shots of hands, feet, eyes etc
- once we've got those I can go for some shots with the mum, dad and sisters (assuming the baby is settled enough)

Is there anything glaring I'm missing out or not considering? I'm keen to let the parents lead the comfort of the baby as I'm not experienced, and I'm planning on being there all day if I need so we're not rushing the baby. With regards to lighting, I was planning on using the natural light of the window (i.e. moving the sofa so the window light is coming at about a 45 degree angle to the baby's head), but I don't know if I should look into buying/hiring a continuous softbox light as well...anyone have tips on that?

Any help, tips or works of encouragement welcome :)