Over exposed areas on edge of negatives.

Name
Peter
Edit My Images
No
Hi all.

I am new to medium format film photography, and seem to be having issues when I develop my negatives from my Rollei SL66 camera. As you can see below, the edges of the film are coming out of the development tank over exposed. This has also happened to other rolls of film shot with this camera, but to a lesser extent. Am I right in thinking they are light leaks? The areas seem to be in the same location, but get worse the further along the negative you go.

These negatives are 120 HP5+, developed with a Paterson developing tank/ reel. 650ml of chemicals to make sure the film is completely covered, with gentle agitation and knocking to remove any air bubbles.

Does anyone have any ideas what is causing this? I've had one person far more experienced in film developing than me suggest perhaps the film magazine is not fully pressing the film to the camera back? So when the shutter opens, light is managing to intrude. Any ideas/ suggestions?

Thanks!

full

full

Last edited:
The increasing density of the defect in the film margin as you get closer to the end and an apparent repeating pattern could suggest that the roll was not tightly wrapped and secured after shooting. Light could then leak down the edge of the spool and between the backing paper layers. The effect would get less as you got towards the earlier shots nearer the spool shaft.

I too am new to Medium Format (so it would probably be best to ignore what I am about to say). It looks to me like this is light that has got into the end of the roll during the loading / unloading / handling prior to putting it in the tank.

Did you have trouble loading the roll? I did with my first roll, and got similar marks. Alternatively, when you took the exposed roll out, was it a bit loosely wound? When you got it out, did you use the gummed label to hold it tight, or a rubber band, or just leave it - it could have come unwound a little then.