1. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Hi all

    I gather this started rolling out in mid April but my PC is downloading it now.................the initial WUP info appeared to be the disk thrashing associated with the various system resources "working away". The download is nos taking place slowly by comparison only @ 5% after 10 mins!

    Anyone else had this update already and any observations in regard to checking and amending the likes of the privacy or other settings???

    TIA :)
     
  2. tijuana taxi

    tijuana taxi

    Messages:
    9,266
    Name:
    Rich
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Mine did it on Sunday, loads of stuff to do with connecting all devices I don't want and had to deny them access to an awful lot when it was finished.
     
  3. stupar

    stupar

    Messages:
    7,277
    Name:
    Stuart
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    :agree:
    A lot of pointless stuff and a lot of "no you cant have access to that"
     
  4. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Oh....hmmmm!

    Desktop user here on W10 Pro if that will end up making a difference but will have to see what any dialogue boxes popping up ask me to approve.............or will I have to drill down to examine and deny as appropriate???
     
  5. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump

    Messages:
    6,899
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    yep had all our stuff in the house do itself over the last few days, as above a few opt outs to deny at the end but hey ho.
     
  6. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    The download is lick sucking a McD milkshake (as I recall it a very long time ago) through a straw....................at 34% now, a many GB file it seems :(
     
  7. troutfisher

    troutfisher

    Messages:
    1,454
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It also creates a virtual disk which shows up as nearly full, with the result that you get warning pop ups although they are easy to disable.
    In my case it created a 400mb "H" dive which in explorer contains no files.
     
  8. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Right..............................it got I think to approx 61% then failed with code 0x80240034

    I will try it again in a little while!
     
  9. Andrew Moore

    Andrew Moore

    Messages:
    928
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Your not missing much.’it seems to stuff more than fixes so I wouldn’t worry about it.
     
  10. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Hmm! likely wait(?) for WUP to sort itself out and re-try on its own in due course???
     
  11. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    FWIW

    It resumed where it left after I did a restart..............................currently up to 91% :popcorn: :runaway: :tumbleweed:
     
  12. Andrew Moore

    Andrew Moore

    Messages:
    928
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I’d wait yes as you can end up with multiple security patches etc not installing and causing issues. Microsoft at their best.
     
  13. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    As mentioned above, WUP resumes after I did a restart (to refresh the system?)........................now at 98% !

    Edit ~ now at 100% but still says "downloading" so waiting for WUP to confirm 'needs a restart now to complete installation.....'

    Edit2 ~ 30mins on and still saying 100% downloading!

    Edit3 ~ well FWIW it did complete its download is currently 'installing' - 64% and climbing :LOL:
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2018
  14. Neilc28

    Neilc28

    Messages:
    817
    Name:
    Neil
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Ran it for about 2 days before jumping up to the 17666 preview... All good
     
  15. ancient_mariner

    ancient_mariner

    Messages:
    8,647
    Name:
    Toni
    Edit My Images:
    No
    The install takes a LONG time on a slower machine - as in a couple of hours if you're running something that was food grade when W7 was still being sold.
     
    Neilc28 likes this.
  16. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Though old, it is i5 Quad Core with 16GB DDR RAM :)
     
  17. neil_g

    neil_g

    Messages:
    30,942
    Name:
    Neil
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I'd suggest that the disk speed would most likely have more of an effect on installation time. There's a lot of i/o being processed.

    Download time though that's just going to be Internet related.
     
  18. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Well all updated.

    So far nothing asking to connect or do anything that I might see as unwanted or undesirable???

    Any clues as to where or what look for that might be best disabled?

    TIA

    Edit ~ I have gone through all the Privacy settings sections turning off leaving minimal 'on' as I saw fit.

    There were no dialogue boxes of any sort asking for my intervention re: permissions or access to devices etc.

    What I did notice was that in the WUP app panel all update history has gone.......I surmise this 1803 update is a root & branch one hence older security fixes & updates for the OS or Windows Office 2007 are no longer relevant??? Plus an old minor hardware monitor program I had did not pass the "Compatibly Tester" and was removed! NB new terms are mentioned in the popout right-hand pane plus Windows Home Group being removed...this latter I do not recall making use of at all. So must/will read the new terms when I can!
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
  19. stupar

    stupar

    Messages:
    7,277
    Name:
    Stuart
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    All the dialogue I got re settings was right after installation and a fresh reboot. I couldn't get into windows until I had gone through the various motions.
     
  20. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Hmmmm! not this time for me though I think I recall it happened with v1703 Creators Edition update. But as mentioned FWIW I am using W10 Pro in case that initial install dialogue is different between Home and Pro???
     
  21. scorpius

    scorpius

    Messages:
    318
    Name:
    Alistair
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Can you tell me how to disable these messages please as they are incredibly annoying.

    The message popped 3 times in 15 minutes the last time I used my PC.
     
  22. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump

    Messages:
    6,899
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    just leave your pc on and let it do the upgrade and stop fussing with it.
    you can check the progress of the update in control panel, updates
     
  23. scorpius

    scorpius

    Messages:
    318
    Name:
    Alistair
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I did the upgrade on the first day MS released it with no issues.

    What I was trying to get was how to stop the messages about the 400MB virtual drive it created being full to stop as Troutfisher posted about.
     
  24. stupar

    stupar

    Messages:
    7,277
    Name:
    Stuart
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I'm on 10 Pro version 1803 so in theory you should have been presented with the same start up options.
    No idea why you didn't though :D
     
  25. acharris77

    acharris77

    Messages:
    20
    Name:
    Anthony
    Edit My Images:
    No
    They have also removed the Homegroup now from the latest update of Win 10, which is a pain to be honest.
     
  26. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Never used it so no great loss.
     
  27. Box Brownie

    Box Brownie

    Messages:
    5,129
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Ah! the wonders of MS :LOL:
     
    stupar likes this.
  28. hashcake

    hashcake

    Messages:
    4,879
    Name:
    Darran, Daz or ****
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It when fine on my i3 laptop but on the i5 desktop is screwed up my user profile, no matter what I tried I couldn't fix it.
    Luckily I had a recent image I created with Arconis so I put that back on and ran the update again and it went ok.
    I've read reports that remote desktop goes tits up if you try logging into another computer running Win 10 that hasn't had the latest update installed, that's going to really annoy a lot of system admins.
    I'm currently doing the update on a friends desktop, the previous update caused it to reboot and when you shut the PC down, when you wanted to reboot it only gave the option to install the update as well not just a reboot.
    That was annoying because I wanted to create an image before installing the latest update.
    I wish MS would roll out incremental updates rather than a huge one as it make it easier to troubleshoot when things go wrong.
    I still prefer Win 7 over 8/8.1/10 as the GUI looks fugly imho.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
  29. neil_g

    neil_g

    Messages:
    30,942
    Name:
    Neil
    Edit My Images:
    No
    There is literally no good reason to use homegroups. Don't know whether they ever fixed it but it actually used a lot of system resource.
     
    B1ts and hashcake like this.
  30. hashcake

    hashcake

    Messages:
    4,879
    Name:
    Darran, Daz or ****
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    MS only implimented it to make creating a network easier for non techie people and all they did was introduce a pain in the a***.
    My other niggle with MS is the contsant niggling that the firewall is off.
    I don't want to use it, that's why I turned it off in the first place as my routers built in firwall does a very good job without using up more system resources.
     
  31. troutfisher

    troutfisher

    Messages:
    1,454
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    From memory I right clicked on the warning and got the option to turn it off.
     
  32. 4wd

    4wd

    Messages:
    1,845
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    My older desktop did it but not the new one yet.
    The sound got changed to 'headphones' so 'wasn't working'.
    Otherwise not much immediately obvious, also pleased they did away with homegroup nonsense.
    Trouble is I once did set one up to use a shared printer and it has carried on making suggestions about it, like a ghost homegroup that cannot be forgotten - until now.

    It suggested backing up the whole computer to googledrive which would be fun on 0.4mb up
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
  33. Byker28i

    Byker28i

    Messages:
    20,992
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Just unassigned the drive letter using diskpart. For some reason the update gives a drive letter to the OEM partition.
     
  34. Byker28i

    Byker28i

    Messages:
    20,992
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    So it nags that it's got a drive that's filling up because it's assigned a drive letter. To fix open a cod window and type
    Diskpart
    List volume
    Select volume

    Find the affected volume number (mine was g:) volume 2

    Select the affected volume, in my case volume 2 by typing
    Select volume 2

    Remove letter = (drive letter of your volume-mine was g)
    Exit
     
  35. ashtennisguru

    ashtennisguru

    Messages:
    980
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just received a new Dell XPS, so used the Windows ISO tool to install a completely fresh windows 10 1803 image - no bloatware and a much purer experience it seems, just had to reinstall the graphics driver and dell update app and all seems to be working well so far. Took about an hour in total to download the ISO tool onto a USB and then reinstall everything.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2018
  36. gramps

    gramps

    Messages:
    31,272
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Had the call to update to 1803 so clicked ok and off it whirred.
    Took no time at all and re-booted to tell me that the install couldn't be completed.
    Went to Settings > Windows Update and I see a green tick and all up to date.
    Checked winver and the machine is running version 1709 ... interesting!
     
  37. Dave70D

    Dave70D

    Messages:
    6,595
    Name:
    FujiDaveXX
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Did mine yesterday, not any problems with it and have just deleted off old windows giving me over 29GB back :)
     
  38. ancient_mariner

    ancient_mariner

    Messages:
    8,647
    Name:
    Toni
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Mine completed Tuesday night on this XPS, and all was well. Then last night the Dell update program wanted to install a bunch of new drivers & a bios update - this has made the whole machine much snappier, and lightroom much more pleasant to use.
     
  39. gramps

    gramps

    Messages:
    31,272
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Well mine eventually downloaded and installed but then gave a black screen and stalled to unusable! Currently restoring from an Acronis backup ... what a pain :(
     
  40. scorpius

    scorpius

    Messages:
    318
    Name:
    Alistair
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks the next time it pops up I'll look at that option
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice