Canon EF-S Lens buying advice?

D

Deleted member 89208

Hi

I'm pretty new to photography, I bought a Canon 77d with an 18-55mm about 6 months ago. I travel a lot so usually my shooting is on the go, capturing the moment before it passes by.

I have found that with the 18-55 I am missing shots as I don't have the chance to get close enough to the subject so I'm thinking of investing in a new lens with a higher zoom. I have seen this 18-185mm which should allow me to shoot a much wider range without needing to carry more than 1 lens on the go...

https://store.canon.co.uk/canon-ef-s-18-135mm-f-3-5-5-6-is-lens/3558B005/?nav=lenses,ef-slenses

Does anyone have any advice on whether this would be a good option, any tips on buying or alternatives to recommend?

Thanks

Last edited:
I used to have a 15-85mm which was excellent on a cropped sensor like yours. That would give you a little more at either end, but perhaps not enough at the long end. Quality wise I think the 18-135 was a step down from my lens, but it will give you more reach at the long end. I'm not sure how the quality would vary compared with your current lens.

Edit: https://store.canon.co.uk/canon-ef-s-15-85mm-f-3-5-5-6-is-usm-lens/3560B005/?nav=lenses%2Czoomlenses

more expensive!
Ha yes that is more expensive, and unfortunately a little out of my budget at the moment!

Another option would be to go for something with more reach at the long end but I'm just a little worried that I'll be limiting my options when the shorter stuff is needed

https://store.canon.co.uk/canon-ef-s-55-250mm-f-4-5-6-is-stm-lens/8546B005/?nav=lenses,ef-slenses

Ha yes that is more expensive, and unfortunately a little out of my budget at the moment!
And I'm gutted to realise - sold mine for £300. I kept it for ages in case I went back to a cropped sensor as I was very attached to it.