1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Mr Perceptive

    Mr Perceptive

    Messages:
    2,687
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It's £200 more than the launch price of the 6D, and that's nearly 4 years later, and since then we've had a bit of an exchange rate change.

    So is it overpriced compared with the launch price of the 6D....No

    But is it expensive compared to it's competition (D750) and the USA pricing, then.....probably Yes
     
    Paddy McGovern and twist like this.
  2. redhed17

    redhed17

    Messages:
    4,422
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    What is it that makes you want to make the change to Canon with the 6DII from the D750? :thinking: For most it is a big decision to change manufacturers, and many do it for big increases in performance or features, but I can't see anything, from my point my view obviously, ;) to make such a big change. It may be a lot of minor improvements, but I don't see anything groundbreaking in this release. :confused:
     
    twist likes this.
  3. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    10,352
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I think moving from a 6d would be a big step up, moving from a d750 is more like a side step/downgrade at higher cost.
     
  4. hamster100

    hamster100

    Messages:
    617
    Name:
    Doug
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I think the 6d mkii is more evolution than revolution. Still it will be than adiquit for my needs. I hardly shoot video so I'm not too bothered about the lack of 4k
     
  5. Diamonddec

    Diamonddec

    Messages:
    456
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Agreed. We've known about the single SD card slot and no 4K video for a while now, but the spread of the AF points was deffo something that I was keeping my eyes open for. Even 45 AF points barely get to the 1/3rd lines. USB2??? I've been waiting for this camera for a year as a viable alternative for my ageing 7d and an entry into the FF world. This isn't it. I know that Nikon will probably rationalise their FF offerings soon, but the D750 still holds it's own in a lot of areas even though it's getting on for 3 years old. I'm not sure what I'm gonna do. Sitting it out for the Nikon D760 might be an option.
     
    snerkler likes this.
  6. jockwav

    jockwav

    Messages:
    5,706
    Name:
    James (Retired)
    Edit My Images:
    No
    No way i will spend that kind of money,my 6D works fine.:D
     
  7. niko

    niko

    Messages:
    1,448
    Name:
    nik
    Edit My Images:
    No
    looking good to me, a ff 80 really. when funds allow i will probably switch back to ff from m4/3 that I've used for the last 3 years
     
  8. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    256
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Did I hear right, the 6d mk2 has its own built in stabilisation. Thought I was hearing things or maybe it only works for video or something
     
  9. Dale.

    Dale.

    Messages:
    1,622
    Name:
    Dale.
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Tonight could be dangerous, I have beer as it's not a school night and I'm wanting a new camera. ;-)
     
  10. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    3,938
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Only digital, not sensor.
     
    GTG likes this.
  11. drb5

    drb5

    Messages:
    1,575
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Truthfully, it's mostly a Canon/Nikon thing.

    I've had Canon's on and off for a number of years and feel more confident and comfortable with them. The D750 was/is my first step in Nikon world and while it's a camera that I couldn't ask for anymore from.

    The 6D, while it was damn near perfect, the flaws that it had(DR range, focussing, etc), were corrected when moving to the D750. A crazy move? Sure, to some folk, but I was able to do it and still have some change in my pocket(3 L lenses, to 2 special Nikon lenses).

    Now the flaws of the 6D are fixed with the MKII, I'm very tempted to move back to what I know and love best. Is it a stupid idea? I suppose so, but as long as it suits me, then what difference does it make?

    Panamoz expect stock in August.
     
    jockwav, Diamonddec and Phil V like this.
  12. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    8,933
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I'd wait for proper tests and reviews before making the jump back tbh. It could still be a backwards step rather than a side step.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and Diamonddec like this.
  13. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    10,352
    Edit My Images:
    No
    And isn't it only video? Which also means it's going to crop.
     
  14. redhed17

    redhed17

    Messages:
    4,422
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    No problem with that as long as people are truthful with themselves, and don't discredit a brand they dislike, or embellish the features of a product to in some way justify a choice. ;)

    Obviously feeling comfortable with the camera is a very important aspect. Some people can live with a lot of compromises for that feeling of comfort. I stuck with the Nikon D300S for many years because I didn't feel that Nikon had made a good enough camera for me to replace it with their D7*** series of cameras. The technology got so behind though that I was about to buy a 7DII when Nikon announced the D500. :banana: Manufacturer change averted. :D Even after a just over a year though, the D500, ergonomically, doesn't feel as good as the D300S in the hand. :rolleyes:

    That may not be the case this time. ;) If you have the money though, who cares. :)

    Hopefully there will be the information about by then to confirm it is a good decision. :) But I wouldn't make such a big change too quickly without the reviews and user experiences to see if the flaws are fixed. ;) But again, if you have enough money, do what you want, when you want. :D
     
  15. drb5

    drb5

    Messages:
    1,575
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Absolutely. I never go nuts straight away.....well maybe sometimes
     
    snerkler likes this.
  16. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    256
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yea I bought a D300 for £160 and was shocked to death how good it handles.
    iso button is a good place, can change between 3 different metering modes in as many seconds by customising the two front buttons. Customise one of the rear buttons to do DOF preview.
    I keep recommending it to people on about similarly priced cameras and they call the d300 old rubbish lol. Don't think so. its an old gem that is still amazing in good light
     
  17. Paddy McGovern

    Paddy McGovern

    Messages:
    6
    Name:
    Paddy
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The 6d2 and 5d3 are now priced the same new, its a dilemma
     
  18. Mike.P

    Mike.P

    Messages:
    3,439
    Edit My Images:
    No
    But in a few months time I would imagine the 6DII will be somewhat cheaper ... the 5D3 did it's new adopters losses a long time ago.
     
  19. jonneymendoza

    jonneymendoza

    Messages:
    3,932
    Edit My Images:
    No
    5d3 is a bargain it you bought it at launched and used it extensively for 4 years
     
  20. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    3,938
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    If you don't need dual cards, aka your career and reputation is not at risk if a card goes kaput then I'd get the 6D2 for the dual pixel AF (amazing), the wifi/GPS, the touch screen, probably better low light.

    That said I would seriously miss the joy stick.
     
    Paddy McGovern and Wayne Els like this.
  21. Wayne Els

    Wayne Els

    Messages:
    674
    Name:
    Wayne
    Edit My Images:
    No
    It depends what you want. I never needed the better AF and features of the 5D3. I also didn't want it's extra size, weight and cost. For travel and landscapes the 6D is great. The 2 will be better, in particular even better IQ and the tilting screen. At the same price I'd get the 6D2, some significant useful improvements over the original along with my same reasons for getting a 6D in the first place.

    That said I've got a Sony now with Canon glass. I'll see how it goes but if I switch back in 6 months it'll almost definitely be for a 6D2.
     
    Paddy McGovern likes this.
  22. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    256
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    must have worked on iso performance. the native iso now is 40,000. still I wish there was some kind of breakthrough in tech instead of small gains every few years
     
  23. soupdragon

    soupdragon

    Messages:
    406
    Name:
    Tony
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I'm hoping for some "Auto Composition" tech.
    No matter what camera I have, I still don't get it right very often. :banghead:
     
    jerry12953 likes this.
  24. odd jim

    odd jim Flimsiest Lambresta

    Messages:
    9,023
    Name:
    Jim
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Even a 4k screen won't show camera images full res from a 8 mp camera, so anything over 8 mp even on a 4k screen won't show on screen viewing, let alone 16-24 mp and above.
     
  25. jonoooo125

    jonoooo125

    Messages:
    1,076
    Name:
    Jon
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    20% more money gets you a 5Div, I'm glad I didn't wait for this, I'm sure it's a good camera and even has an intervelometer built in so it will be more useful to some but I'm happy with being impatient and going for the 5D, also tony northrup is the only YouTube channel I have unsubbed, I wouldn't take his word for it, the 80 is over a year old, how could the 6D not be better?
     
  26. jerry12953

    jerry12953

    Messages:
    7,415
    Name:
    Jeremy Moore
    Edit My Images:
    No

    Not quite sure about your maths there......... £2000 + 20% = £2400. We all know how much a 5d4 costs.
     
  27. StewartR

    StewartR Efrem Zimbalist Jr Advertiser

    Messages:
    9,833
    Name:
    Stewart (duh)
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Compared to US pricing.... Remember that (1) advertised US prices don't include sales tax, and (2) US retailers don't milk the must-have-it-now brigade as efficiently as UK retailers do. So we all expect the price to fall from £1999 in 3-6 months time, but the US price will probably stick at $1999. Excluding VAT and sales tax, the price difference is currently only about 10%, and that will certainly be eroded over time.

    Compared to the D750.... The D750 launched at £1799 in 2014. But DSLRs are effectively priced in Yen, and the Sterling/Yen exchange rate has been all over the place since then. In late 2014 the rate was around £1=¥175, so the D750 launch price was around ¥315,000. Now the rate is around £1=¥145, so the 6D II launch price is around ¥290,000. I think that means the 6D II might be a bit cheaper than the 750D, once all the early adopters have filled their boots at £1999.
     
  28. gunnar

    gunnar

    Messages:
    363
    Name:
    Alex
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Maximum shutter speed of 1/4000 is a massive show stopper for me. I don't understand why canon keeps doing it.

    I regularly exceed 1/4000 even at slow-ish f-stops like 2.8 when shooting in the mountains or sea side.

    And no, I don't wont to carry filters around, thank you very much
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
  29. jonoooo125

    jonoooo125

    Messages:
    1,076
    Name:
    Jon
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Check panamoz, it's 22% more than a brand new 6dii at £2441.
     
  30. drb5

    drb5

    Messages:
    1,575
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    No
    We don't know what price point the 6DII will be at Panamoz though, so not a true comparison.
     
    twist and jerry12953 like this.
  31. jonoooo125

    jonoooo125

    Messages:
    1,076
    Name:
    Jon
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    And in 3 months you can order a 6dii much cheaper I'm sure but right now, with the prices stated (30/06/17) its only £400 more was my point
     
    drb5 likes this.
  32. redhed17

    redhed17

    Messages:
    4,422
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It is to get people like you, who may have wider aperture lenses (and so more expensive ;)) to buy the higher camera in their range. They think if you are spending a lot on lenses you will buy a camera to as not to compromise them in bright situations. Nikon do it too with the D610 and D750.
     
  33. gunnar

    gunnar

    Messages:
    363
    Name:
    Alex
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    And yet both do 1/8000 in lower range models like 80D / D7500. Madness
     
  34. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    8,933
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I said that about the D750, but I haven't really found the shutter speed limiting tbh. At the end of the day it's no different to the very well regarded D700. Whilst that had a shutter of 1/8000, base ISO was 200, so no different exposure wise compared with the D750 at 100 and 1/4000. Plus you have these low ISO modes now with negligible difference in IQ. Granted a 1/8000 shutter would still be nice, but they have to compromise somewhere to make these cameras smaller, lighter and cheaper. It shouldn't be a deal breaker imo but obviously YMMV.
     
    Phil V likes this.
  35. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    256
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    For freezing action only one time I found 1/4000 too slow was bee photography lol. I'm sure other wildlife / tech stuff needs it but if 1/4000 is too slow there is no guarantee 1/8000 will be fast enough anyway
     
  36. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    8,933
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I shoot bees at 1/200-1/250 :eek:
     
  37. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    256
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Flying honey bees ? They are a blur at 1/4000. I tried many shots with a d90 and had to switch to a d300 to get the 1/8000 and most bees are focused them but still a couple of blurry blobs. And was using a tripod and VR lens in good light
     
    snerkler likes this.
  38. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    8,933
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Lol no, just ones going in and out of flowers collecting pollen ;)
     
  39. odd jim

    odd jim Flimsiest Lambresta

    Messages:
    9,023
    Name:
    Jim
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Not sure why people get hung up on the 1/4000 thing TBH. I've shot ballistic photography with shutter speeds lower than that! You can probably lower the ISO to 50 as you can with the mk1, that enables me to shoot wide primes in sunny conditions with no issues.
     
  40. odd jim

    odd jim Flimsiest Lambresta

    Messages:
    9,023
    Name:
    Jim
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It'll likely be cheaper than that when they hit Panamoz...
     

Share This Page