Edit My Images
No
I'm a relative newbie to printing, but have spent a lot of time reading up.
I have a couple of questions...

Today I processed a RAW image ready for printing so that the black and white points were just not clipping in Lightroom. I then exported this as a Jpeg.
1st Question... does anybody use the LR print module without exporting the processed RAW file as a jpeg? Is there a recommended practice?

When I looked at the jpeg histogram, it had compressed and appeared that I needed to expand my range at either end - more whites and blacks/contrast.

2nd Question... I know jpegs are lossy, but is this what you would expect with the histogram?
3rd Question...Would you then tweak the whites and blacks on the jpeg before printing?

I have been experimenting with using LR or letting the Canon printer manage the printing, and today tried the Canon Pro Studio software for the first time. In this case I tried brightening the image and upping the contrast a little.

Lots to learn and really enjoying it, but would be interested to hear what more experienced people would do.

Most of my work I publish in jpg for printing purposes like catalogues,
magazines, books and alike.

I do not use LR but another converter where I feel the exported files look
like the PP'ed version. I would not edit a jpg but re-export it after tweaks.

Maybe you could show an example?

Last edited:
Printing from LR is the preferred practice. Why wouldn’t you?
And do you always print from a jpeg, or sometimes a processed raw file?

Canon Studio Pro seems a little friendlier on centring an image whilst leaving it as large as possible but I am still experimenting.

And do you always print from a jpeg, or sometimes a processed raw file?

Canon Studio Pro seems a little friendlier on centring an image whilst leaving it as large as possible but I am still experimenting.
No need for a jpeg either print straight from the LR print module or straight from the Print Studio Pro add on.