Name
Nina
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I wonder if anyone can help me as I am a beginner on film.

I am using a Canon A1 with a 35-70mm lens and have just bought some Kodak Portra 400.

I will be shooting indoors in a well lit room with neon lights. I have set my ISO to 400 to match the film but does anyone know what the best shutter speed I should be using?

Many thanks

Nina

Depends on what you are trying to achieve. Normal "rules" for minimum shutter speed are the inverse of the focal length of the lens, so if you're using a 50mm lens then 1/50, a 300mm lens = 1/300.
Alternatively you can use flash and if it's not too bright inside the flash duration will freeze all the action or camera shake, I think the shutter for flash photography with an A1 will be around 1/90 (may 1/125), just checked it is 1/60.
Or if on a tripod you can go a lot slower.
FD lenses dont have IS of course.
The film speed wont have a lot of bearing on the shutter speed you can use as you are trying to get a correctly exposed shot and it's the combination of shutter and aperture which govern this (for a given film speed).

Does that help?
Matt

Last edited:
Hi Matt
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I think I understand what you mean, apologies like I said I am pretty new to this.

The only options I have on my camera are 1000, 500, 250, 125, 60, 30, 15, 8, 4 etc. I was using Portra 160 film before with shutter speeds between 250 on a sunny day and 30 indoors. The ones at 250 in daylight looked really nice, however the indoor shots with shutter speed between 125 and 30 came out really dark and grainy, it was pretty disappointing.

I thought if I got a faster film it might help?

Best
Nina

By neon do you mean fluorescent strip lighting? You might find that colours come out a bit weird and un-natural on a daylight-balanced colour film - unless that's your intention.