Beginner which camera should i buy?

Name
william
Edit My Images
Yes
I know this is a very common question- Please bear with me. I really hope I can get some informative answers as I have no knowledge in photography.

I'll mainly like to buy a dslr to use for 1-2 years down the line without really upgrading. I mainly want to use it to post great instagram photos, instead of using my iphone camera. I also would like to take cool shots I can use to edit into my imovie for footage and possibily creating a portfolio and posting it in blogs as well.
I have narrowed down to a canon model, I have felt and compared it to previous models and I just think canon is a better fit (setting/functionality wise)
I was thinking of getting last year model (maybe 80D?). What are your thoughts?

I know you can't really tell me which camera is best for me, and I realized it's not really about the body so much as it is the lens that matter, so I'll just like for someone to really mentor me how I can go about being the best photographer. I'm sure all of you at some point have been in my shoes before.I'd really appreciate that.

Btw, I don't really have a budget in mind. If its worth it, I'll invest in the right one.

If you have been an iPhone fan and your description of your intended uses i do wonder if you may find the DSLR too large and heavy to be bothered with after a while,your description sounds like a top end mirrorless may fit the bill.