weekly Karl12347 52 Week Challenge - Week7 - Root added

Name
Karl
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi there everyone, I am new to DSLR photography, the forums and saw this challenge so thought I would give it ago as I find it hard to think of subjects to photograph. I currently own the Nikon d3100 with 18 - 55mm lens which I know is only a starter kit but have had some great shots so far. I would appreciate any feedback.

Week 1 : Direction
Week 2 : Fear
Week 3 : Sigh
Week 4 : Sweet
Week 5 : Secure
Week 6 : Industry
Week 7 : Root
Week 8 :
Week 9 :
Week 10 :
Week 11 :
Week 12 :
Week 13 :
Week 14 :
Week 15 :
Week 16 :
Week 17 :
Week 18 :
Week 19 :
Week 20 :
Week 21 :
Week 22 :
Week 23 :
Week 24 :
Week 25 :
Week 26 :
Week 27 :
Week 28 :
Week 29 :
Week 30 :
Week 31 :
Week 32 :
Week 33 :
Week 34 :
Week 35 :
Week 36 :
Week 37 :
Week 38 :
Week 39 :
Week 40 :
Week 41 :
Week 42 :
Week 43 :
Week 44 :
Week 45 :
Week 46 :
Week 47 :
Week 48 :
Week 49 :
Week 50 :
Week 51 :
Week 52 :

My first photo is of an old steam carrousel at beamish museum in durham which I really liked and thought it fitted really well with the first theme of direction i.e. they can only go one direction.
SteamCarousel.jpg

Last edited:
Hi Karl, excellent start, overall I quite like this.

If I had taken the shot, I think I probably would have made more of a feature of the steam, and darkened it enough to give it more of a moody look. As it is, there are some over exposed areas, and it is a little soft.

Looking forward to seeing your next 51 (y)

Hi Guys

Thanks for the feedback, I agree with the faster shutter speed as there is some blur on the middle horses but was a spare of the moment shot as the steam was completely covering the whole subject at one point.

Had I not had the blur I think I would have spent more time with it in photoshop being a bit harsher with the contrast settings.

Looking forward to the next theme.