1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Funny how off topic thoughts I have when triggered...Peter Sellers and Monty Python team or whoever always thought the word "Rhubarb" was so funny...carry on guys :D
     
  2. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    trevorbray, Strappy, Asha and 4 others like this.
  3. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Keeping with the 6x6 TLR type theme; 1970 Yashica 635 with orange filter and Ilford XP2 400.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
  4. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I had an orange filter with me on Saturday, but ended up not using it - mostly because I'm not quite sure how many stops of effect it will have on the exposure. I bought it months ago with the intent on using it to add contrast to B&W shots from the Lubitel, but have yet to even screw it on the camera.
     
  5. mdjchat

    mdjchat

    Messages:
    193
    Name:
    Mathew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I struggle to remember but I think that it's:

    Yellow = 1 stop
    Orange = 2 stops
    Red = 3 stops

    No doubt someone will jump in if I'm wrong.
     
    ChrisR and FishyFish like this.
  6. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Another from the same set as the one I posted in the Harbours Challenge discussion thread; taken by my Dad in Concarneau, Brittany in June 1973 and scanned from a Kodachrome slide (probably Kodachrome 64). I just can't seem to get a scan from it that looks like the original colour-wise, even using post scan editing in Photoshop Elements.

    Is it a difficult film to scan or is it just me? :confused: Between that and Photobucket being its usual frustrating pop-up ridden self, I'm not a very pleased badger! Mind you, that brand-new looking, bright yellow, Mk1 Ford Escort (Mexico?) parked on the quayside did cheer me up a bit.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
    excalibur2 likes this.
  7. mothdust

    mothdust

    Messages:
    1,267
    Name:
    Charlotte
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Photobucket is poo! If you're looking for a site that just hosts images, I'd recommend imgur.com or flickr :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
    Mr Badger likes this.
  8. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I'll have a look at alternative image hosts when I get some spare time, it's just the thought of having to set up yet another account, password, etc. Meh!
     
    mothdust likes this.
  9. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I just held the filter over the CCD (or whatever it's called) on my Lunasix 3 light meter and took a reading like that, before fitting it to the camera. Not sure if this is the correct way of doing things but it seemed to work OK for me, just mind your fingers don't get in the way and add to the shading if you try this. :)
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  10. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Funnily enough, I did actually do something similar - I held the filter over my phone's lens though and used the light meter app to compare with / without values. It seemed to suggest a 1 1/3 stop difference, but as it was an unscientific test I decided not to chance it on the day.
     
  11. Asha

    Asha

    Messages:
    7,034
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I can see no reason why it wouldn't work as it's no different to placing a filter infront of a lens on a camera with TTL metering and allowing the cameras meter to automatically make the adjustment
     
    Mr Badger likes this.
  12. simon ess

    simon ess

    Messages:
    6,391
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I test my filters with my Nikon D7000 and a macro lens on spot metering.

    My orange filter is 1 1/3 stops
     
  13. StephenM

    StephenM

    Messages:
    2,113
    Name:
    Stephen
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Depends on the metering cell. Two drawbacks to CdS meters that were never mentioned (as far as I remember) was that they had a memory - they couldn't adjust instananeously between the dazzing outdoors and the dark indoors, and needed a little time to adjust - and that they were over sensitive to red. Filter through a CdS meter by all means, but be prepared to be a stop under if the filter is red. Silicon Blue cells don't have this problem so far as I know.

    The other thing to bear in mind is that filter factors are there to compensate for light lost, and a red filter will stop a greater proportion of the light if you're shooting outdoors out of direct sunlight (blue illumination from the sky) compared to indoors with yellow tungsten lights. Hence factors might be engraved on the filter, but aren't engraved in stone :D
     
    Asha likes this.
  14. Asha

    Asha

    Messages:
    7,034
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I just knew that you would come forward and inform us that all is not necessarily straight forward:crying: :p....... I was all set for a simple life with colour filters until you posted:bat::D:D

    Never mind, I can now return to more studying of books, links and different filters to try and understand about it all.......as if I have nothing better to do:p:D
     
  15. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Time for an advanced camera like the T70 :D just tried a sepia filter in front of the lens and exposure went down from f9.5 to f4 @1/60 sec
     
  16. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Another Bolsover Castle shot. Got three more to come after this one (including my favourite of the set, and one that I think I'll hold back for next month's FPOTY).

    [​IMG]
    FILM - Doors within doors
    by fishyfish_arcade, on Flickr
     
  17. Asha

    Asha

    Messages:
    7,034
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I am thoroughly enjoying viewing these posts Nige....Old architecture is right up my street.
    Keep 'em coming
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  18. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thanks. I have to say that the little ol' Lubitel has impressed me with these. It's still a bugger to focus and compose with, but apart from a little softness at the edges, I'm pretty happy with how these have turned out.
     
  19. Asha

    Asha

    Messages:
    7,034
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Well they're darned good imo

    What developer and scanner did you use as they have fantastic tones and are as sharp, if not more so than what I,ve had out of my two TLRs ( Cord and 124G)
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  20. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thanks Asha. They were processed at Peak Imaging, so I'm not sure about the developer used (although I was told they use Xtol for Rollei Retro 400s, so it may be the same for this - I know little of developer chemicals I'm afraid). They were scanned at home on my Epson V550 and I tweaked the histogram on most of them prior to the final scans to pull out detail. The scanner was set to the default "medium" unsharp mask level (I've tried scanning with this switched off in the past but, to be honest, I can see no difference in the results, so I just leave it as is). I then tweaked them in Lightroom (contrast, highlights, shadows, blacks & whites to varying degrees for each shot).
     
    Asha likes this.
  21. Sir SR

    Sir SR

    Messages:
    5,734
    Name:
    Shaheed
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Never thought of just getting negs developed elsewhere!! I do enjoy the process though!! Can't recall how much it costs to develop the negs!
     
  22. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    It costs under six quid for negs only at Peak Imaging (135 or 120). I'm within walking distance so I don't have any postage costs to add to it, which makes it pretty cost effective given the quality of the service and results. They've been great on speed too - I can usually drop them off in the morning and collect them at lunchtime.
     
    Sir SR likes this.
  23. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    7,183
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I was in that position but last year Photosucket finally proved too much to bear, and I revived my old flickr account. Very pleased so far!
     
  24. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    7,183
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Or just don't worry about it (specially the 1/3 stop). It's negative film, just over-expose a bit...
     
    Carl Hall and Asha like this.
  25. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    7,183
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Every time I've asked Peak about the chems for my black and white it's been XTOL and lovely! Filmdev told me they use XTOL too. Had me checking it out but looks like it's more suited to volume users...
     
    Asha likes this.
  26. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Looking at Peak's website, it looks like they use it for all their B&W processing:


    XTOL Process for Black & White Films
    We process all makes of black & white process films using Kodak X-Tol developer. All X-Tol process films are supplied in high quality clear sleeves.
     
    Asha likes this.
  27. Kei

    Kei

    Messages:
    258
    Name:
    Kyle
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  28. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
  29. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I've saved my favourite shot of the roll until last. I don't know what others think, but I really like this one and think it's a nice example of what the Lubitel can achieve when used well (or, as is probably the case with me, through blind luck...).

    Lubitel 166 U & Rollei Superpan 200

    [​IMG]
    FILM - At Bolsover Castle
    by fishyfish_arcade, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  30. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    VG..I like castles and nominate you to represent F&C as chief castle shooter..unpaid of course ;)
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  31. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Do I get a trebuchet?
     
  32. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    You can take the place of a stone ball, man's head, deseased carcass.. and enjoy the ride :D A nice meet would be at Warwick castle, but might be awkward for anyone travelling by train.
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  33. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well I did a pano of Windsor castle
    [​IMG]

    Also near the castle played with a program that gave this effect on this shot
    [​IMG]
     
    Mr Badger and FishyFish like this.
  34. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    You've got to love the detail in the images a 6x6 TLR can give, as even a budget one like the Lubitel 166 proves in those great looking castle shots. I haven't got a shot of a castle to join in with, but this is nearly the same size as a small one and it's got a bit of heraldry on the front! Once again, I think it's got that 'walk-in and see the detail' type feel to it. 1971 Yashica 635 TLR with Kodak Ektar 100.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
    trevorbray, swisscheese, Kei and 7 others like this.
  35. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Messages:
    7,183
    Name:
    Chris
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Warwick has a train station, trains from Brum and London... however, Warwick Castle charges £2,000 per person entry so I certainly wouldn't go. :(
     
  36. StephenM

    StephenM

    Messages:
    2,113
    Name:
    Stephen
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Blimey, I could park in Brighton for 83 days for that!
     
  37. Mr Badger

    Mr Badger

    Messages:
    919
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    £2,000 per person entry fee? Is that a typo, or does that fee include a knighthood? :D
     
  38. Andysnap

    Andysnap POTY (Film) 2015

    Messages:
    14,421
    Name:
    Andy Grant
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    No it's a typo, they only charge £1500 for pensioners
     
    ChrisR, mothdust and Mr Badger like this.
  39. excalibur2

    excalibur2 Loretta

    Messages:
    8,333
    Name:
    Brian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Cor when I went there last is was 1 and three farthings ;)
     
    ChrisR likes this.
  40. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    1,550
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No

Share This Page