Monthly Tracer's 2013-ETC; January

Edit My Images
Yes
A challenge with a difference - I really like it! However I have really struggled with this first month and the results are pretty much rubbish. It didn't help that I forgot about it until after the Christmas lights came down. Still, at least I have tried and it has been a very useful learning curve.

JANUARY

Physiograms
I have never tried these before as although I have seen some beautiful images I am not really interested in doing them myself -- and it shows! It certainly makes me appreciate the wonderful achievements elsewhere.

physgm5935.jpg

physg5938.jpg

Star trails
I really wanted to do some star trails but the weather has been hopeless. This was just a test shot from the back garden but turned out to be the only one I managed. I intend to pursue this, though, if the skies ever clear. I have already learned that I need to do a custom white balance...

startrails1b.jpg

City lights
As a female I am bit reluctant to go out alone with a tripod in the city, though there are lots of good night scenes to be had. However for this shot I could balance the camera on a beanbag on the wall overlooking the road. It was bitterly cold and I couldn't see what I was doing, so by the time I had set things up the traffic had thinned out a lot. Not very interesting but at least I can now tick off light trails.

lighttrail5917.jpg

When I got home my hands were so cold I could hardly get the key in the lock - it took a large mug of hot chocolate before I thawed out again.

Night lights
The last two are from a a family visit to Stirling Castle. They are just hand-held snaps with VR, and a bit of noise reduction added later. The floodlights have different colours. I rather like the last one which reminds me of a knight in armour, watching over the sleeping city below.

stirlingcastle5800.jpg

stirlingcastle58071.jpg

I hope I can do a bit better next month :LOL:. I'll comment on the other entries in the next few days.