weekly Stephen's TP52 for 2015 - Week 12 - Close Up

Name
Stephen
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, Somehow I managed to delete my first comment.. My name is Stephen and this is my first one.

Week 1 - Bliss
Week 2 - Fragile
Week 3 - Scenic
Week 4 - Companions
Week 5 - Elegant
Week 6 - Watery
Week 7 - Bold
Week 8 - Relax

Week 9 - Vertical
Week 10 - Mouth
Week 11 - Crowd
Week 12 - Close Up
Week 13 - Machine

So this is my first entry ever to the TP52. I wasn't sure which photo I liked the best. The first one is the standard JPEG and the second has been edited in Nikon ViewNX2. I am a complete newbie to photgraphy and editing so please be honest and tell me which one you like best(If any), why and what I can do to improve.

I thought the original was too dark and no colours really stood out to me. I have made the edited version my choice for week one bliss :)

Exif: f/4.5 1/2sec ISO-100 90mm

Original
DSC_0057 by Stephen Gibbon, on Flickr
Edited
DSC_0057 by Stephen Gibbon, on Flickr

Last edited:
Hi, sorry to have to say this but somewhere between the two would be better, I think you have pushed it a little to much
good start though and the composition is good

Thanks for your honesty. To be honest with you I have to agree. I will have another go at it and like you say try to find a nice balance somewhere in the middle.

Spot on image for Bliss. Good composition but I have to agree the happy medium is somewhere in between.
I'm not familiar with View NX so I don't know how much control you have. Looking at your jpeg image, I can see sparkly detail on the white 'snowflakes' on the left edge of the big bauble. This detail isn't visible on the edited image - it just looks all white. Try backing off little by little until the detail starts to reappear and see how that looks.

Bliss, not my idea of bliss :)

The edit does seem to have gone a little far and your WB may be a little off.

You're getting there with composition and DOF.

Cheers.